Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History (United States) 2019

Gonzaga Library Search

Start here to find thousands of books, media, and scholarly journal articles housed at Foley and available to you electronically.

U.S. History Databases

A

America History and Life (EBSCO)

America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes over 1,700 journals as far back as 1910.

 

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection

Digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.

Series 1 1691-1820

Series 2 1821-1837

Series 3 1838-1852

Series 4 1853-1865

Series 5 1866-1877

 

American Politics and Society from JFK to Watergate, 1960–1975

An exceptional compilation of document types from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon presidencies as well as records from federal agencies. Issues of the challenging times chronicled span women’s rights, environmental issues, urban renewal, rural development, tax reform, civil rights, space exploration, international trade, War on Poverty, and the Watergate trials.

 

Artemis Primary Sources (Gale)

Artemis Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows users to search across all our Gale primary source collections. Currently Artemis Primary searches the following collections: Nineteenth Century Collection Online, Nineteenth Century Newspapers, Indigenous Peoples: North America, and The Times (London) Digital Archives 1785-2008.


B

Biography Reference Center (EBSCO)

Biography Reference Center offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies and unique narrative biographies. It contains more than 430,000 full text biographies of authors, artists, athletes, authors, world leaders, explorers, scientists and many others.


G

Gale Virtual Reference Library | History

Includes reference sources from selected dictionaries, directories, and encyclopedias.


H

History Study Center (ProQuest)

An Online resource providing a vast collection primary and secondary sources for the study of history, including global history from ancient times to the present day. It is suitable for a wide range of users, from high school students looking for quick and reliable facts on a historical topic, to researchers examining hard-to-find primary source texts.

 

Humanities Abstracts (EBSCO)

This database provides abstracts and detailed bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Humanities Abstracts covers topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.


J

Japanese-American relocation camp newsletters

Although histories exist about this chapter in American history, this digital collection of Japanese relocation camp newspapers record the concerns and the day-to-day life of the interned Japanese-Americans. Although articles in these files frequently appear in Japanese, most of the papers are in English or in dual text. Many of the 25 titles constituting this collection are complete or substantially complete.


L

Life Magazine Archive

Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions.


N

New York Times through Proquest's Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)

New York Times from 1851-2008 with index from 1851-1993.

 

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

Includes digital facsimile images of articles and full pages for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers  For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration.
Also searchable in  Artemis Primary Sources


O

Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880

Comprised of over 71,000 images from the microfilm collections Travels in the West and Southwest and the Plains & Rockies, this digital collection provides a unique window on Western History. Selections are based on the bibliographies, The Plains and Rockies: A Critical Bibliography of Exploration, Adventure, and Travel in the American West, 1800-1865, and The Trail West: A Bibliography-Index to Western American Trails, 1841-1869.

 

Oxford Reference Online | History

Provides dictionary and encyclopedic information.


R

Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective (EBSCO)

Readers’ Guide Retrospective™: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature™. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture, science and seminal developments across nearly a century.


U

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978

Containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978, this product provides an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system.


V

Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975

Covering the U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops. Documents trace the actions and decisions at the highest levels of the U.S. foreign policy apparatus, as well as events on the ground in Vietnam, from the perspective of State Department officials, Associated Press reporters, and members of the U.S. Armed forces, including the Marines and the Military Assistance Command, Vietnam (MACV); General William Westmoreland Papers, and National Security Files from the Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, and Ford administrations.


W

War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824

Rare primary sources chronicle the unique, often controversial, relationship between the U.S. government and the Native American nations.

 

Accessibility | Proxy Logout