Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History (United States) 2019

Primary Source Databases

American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893

American Indian Correspondence, a collection of almost 14,000 letters written by those who served as Presbyterian missionaries to the American Indians during the years from 1833 to 1893. Their letters describe native peoples and cultures, tribal factionalism, relations with the U.S. government and the many problems and achievements of their work.

American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism

Formed in 1968, the American Indian Movement (AIM) expanded from its roots in Minnesota and broadened its political agenda to include a searching analysis of the nature of social injustice in America. These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism.

Artemis Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows users to search across all Gale primary source databases. Below is a list American history Artemis databases and their subjects:

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a database dedicated to the research of international affairs. Many different document types, including journals, books, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, and policy briefs. CIAO is also a good place to find primary sources, like case studies. The database is updated on a monthly basis, and has holdings from 1991 to the present.

Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive

This collaborative project seeks to create a database with thematic coherence that engages online researchers in thinking more deeply about the significance of the rich primary resources available in museums, libraries, and historical societies.

Japanese American Internment: Records of the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library

Includes government documents and correspondence related to the interment of Japanese Americans during World War II.

Life Magazine Archive

Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published by Time Inc., the magazine has featured story-telling through documentary photographs and informative captions.

New York Times through Proquest's Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)

New York Times from 1851-2008 with index from 1851-1993.

Northwest Digital Archives

NWDA provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the Northwestern United States, including correspondence, diaries, or photographs. Digital reproductions of primary sources are available in some cases.

Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880

Comprised of over 71,000 images from the microfilm collections Travels in the West and Southwest and the Plains & Rockies, this digital collection provides a unique window on Western History. Selections are based on the bibliographies, The Plains and Rockies: A Critical Bibliography of Exploration, Adventure, and Travel in the American West, 1800-1865, and The Trail West: A Bibliography-Index to Western American Trails, 1841-1869.

Salem Press

Salem Press provides quality reference materials in literature, history and career planning. Major titles include Magill’s Literary Annual and Defining Documents in American History as well as additional works. It is a key resource for primary documents in history.

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978

Containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978, this product provides an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system.

War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824

Rare primary sources chronicle the unique, often controversial, relationship between the U.S. government and the Native American nations.

 

 

Accessibility | Proxy Logout