A research guide to introduce you to the field of international studies. You'll find the materials, search tools, and other resources you need to start your research. If you need any assistance, please contact your librarian.
An international relations subset of the larger Oxford Bibliographies, including an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. This resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics and International Relations by Garrett W. Brown; Iain McLean; Alistair McMillanThis bestselling dictionary contains over 1,700 entries on all aspects of politics and international relations. Written by a leading team of political scientists, it embraces the multi-disciplinary spectrum of political theory including political thinkers, history, institutions, theories, andschools of thought, as well as notable current affairs that have shaped attitudes to politics.Fully updated for its fourth edition, the dictionary has had its coverage of international relations heavily revised and expanded, reflected in its title change, and it includes a wealth of new material in areas such as international institutions, peace building, human security, security studies,global governance, and open economy politics. It also incorporates recommended web links that can be accessed via a regularly checked and updated companion website, ensuring that the links remain relevant.The dictionary is international in its coverage and will prove invaluable to students and academics studying politics and related disciplines, as well as politicians, journalists, and the general reader seeking clarification of political terms.
Publication Date: 2018
A Guide to Countries of the World (4th ed.) by Christopher Riches and Peter StalkerThis guides provides a wealth of information on every country in the world, including dependent territories. Each entry provides a brief history of the country and outlines its political, economic, and social issues. A quick-reference fact box provides comparative information on land area, people, language, religion, life expectancy, GDP, and gender equality and environmental performance.
Publication Date: 2016
Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook by Karen Ellicott, ed.A compilation of U.S. Department of State reports on contemporary political and economic conditions, government personnel and policies, political parties, religions, history, education, press, radio and TV, climate, and other characteristics of selected countries of the world; together with travel alerts, passport and visa information, world health information for travelers, and customs and duty tips for returning residents.
Publication Date: 2015
Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations by GaleThis classic reference covers more than 31,000 multi-national, national and international membership organizations in more than 190 countries of the world, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe - including U.S.-based organizations with a bi-national or multinational membership. Entries provide the names of directors, executive officers or other personal contacts; telephone, fax, electronic mail and websites; the group's history, governance, staff, membership, budget and affiliations; the goals and activities of the international organization, including research, awards, certification, education, lobbying and other important activities; and publication and convention information.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
The annual Country Reports on Human Rights Practices, also known as the Human Rights Reports, cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international agreements.
Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.
Statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce on an annual basis. Special topics issues cover a wide range of additional topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language, among others.