International Studies

Welcome! This course guide was created for students enrolled in INST 201: Introduction to International Studies taught by Dr. Albana Dwonch in Spring 2023. The resources below are suggested starting points for your research assignments in this course. If you would like additional research help, you are welcome to schedule a research appointment with a librarian.

• New York Times (follow these instructions to activate your complimentary NYT access)
• Washington Post (access full text @ Foley)
• The Guardian (access full text @ Foley)
• BBC News (no subscription required)

Newspaper Databases:

• Foley Library subscribes to a number of news and newspaper databases.
• To locate specific newspapers or articles, search for the publication title (e.g. Washington Post, Los Angeles Times) in the Periodicals @ Foley search box to find full text access.

Websites, films and other multi-media sources that you can consult as reliable sources for further research pertaining the assignments of this class.

International Politics (Shifting Centers of Power)

• Council on Foreign Relations Backgrounders
  Authoritative, accessible, and regularly updated primers on hundreds of foreign policy topics.
• Foreign Policy in Focus
  Think tank providing timely analysis of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs and recommends policy alternatives on a broad range of global issues.
• Center for Strategic and International Studies
  International policy institution focusing on defense and security, regional study, and transnational challenges ranging from energy and trade to global development and economic integration.
• Population Reference Bureau
  Research organization that analyzes and disseminates information about populations and their health and well-being.
• National Centers for Environmental Information
  U.S. authority for environmental data that manages one of the largest archives of atmospheric, coastal, geophysical, and oceanic research in the world.
• World Atlas
• Sustainable Development (Foley doesn't have full-text access to this resource, but you can request individual articles through ILL)
• An Economic Case for Protecting the Planet (TED Talk)

Technology as a Global Force

• Wired (access full text @ Foley)
• This Day in Tech History: The History of Technology in a Daily Blog
• Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
  Provides independent analysis of major global problems and understanding of regional contexts.
• Foreign Affairs (access full text @ Foley)
• World Politics Review (access full text @ Foley to select content only)

Economy as a Global Force

• International Monetary Fund
• World Bank
• World Trade Organization
• Capitalism Will Eat Democracy -- Unless We Speak Up (TED Talk)
• China In A Post-Pandemic World: Digital Silk Road (CNA Documentary)
• Money, Power and Wall Street (PBS Documentary)
• Trump's Trade War (FRONTLINE Documentary)
• What Global Trade Deals Are Really About (Hint: It's Not Trade) (TED Talk)
• Don't Panic: How to End Poverty in 15 Years (BBC Documentary)

International Organizations (Governance as a Global Force)

• The Brexit Effect: How Leaving the EU Hit the UK (FT Film)
• Brexit Going Forward: Who Are the Winners and Losers? (DW News)
• The International Criminal Court (Documentary)
• Sergio (Documentary)
  • Streaming on Netflix
  • Request DVD through Foley

Identity and Culture  (Global Tensions)

• My Identity Is a Superpower -- Not an Obstacle (TED Talk)
• BBC Religions
• Fragile States Index