LibGuides: Religious Studies: Find Books

Books by Subject

General Reference Titles

Concise Dictionary of Early Christianity - REF BR95.K395 1992

Dictionary of Comparative Religions - REF BL31.D54 1970

Encyclopedia Judaica - REF DS102.8.E5 v.1-16, 1971

Encyclopedia of African American Religions - REF BR563.N4E53 1993

Encyclopedia of American Religions - REF BL2525.M449 1996

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity - REF BR162.2.E53 1997

Encyclopedia of Religion - REF BL31.E46 1987

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Religion - REF BL31.E5 1979

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation - REF BR302.8.O93 v.1-4, 1996

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Modern World

Encyclopedia of Buddhism

Religions of the World

Reference Titles - Catholic

Catholic almanac by Foy, Felician A.
Call Number: AY81.R6 N3
Publication Date: 1969 -
Encyclopedia of the Vatican and Papacy by Frank J. Coppa
Call Number: BX955.2 .E53 1999
ISBN: 0313289174
Publication Date: 1999-04-30
Handbook of Catholic Theology by Wolfgang Beinert; Francis S. Fiorenza
Call Number: BX1745.5 .L4913 1995
ISBN: 0824514238
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: BX841 .N44 2003
ISBN: 0787640050
Publication Date: 2002-09-13
The New Dictionary of Catholic Spirituality by Michael Downey (Editor)
Call Number: BX2350.65 .N49 1993
ISBN: 9780814655252
Publication Date: 1993-03-01

Catholic Church Documents

Catechism of the Catholic Church - REF BX1959.5.C384 1994b

Commentary on the Documents of Vatican II - REF BX830 1962.Z913 1967

Concise Guide to the Documents of Vatican II - STACKS BX830 1962.R88 1968

Documents of Vatican II - REF BX830.1962 A3 G3 1966b

Papal Encyclicals: 1958-1971 - REF BX860.P3 1740-1981

Papal Encyclicals in Their Historical Context - REF BX869.A36 1963

Papal Pronouncements: A Guide: 1740-1978 - REF BX850.C27 1990

Vatican Council II: the Conciliar and Post-Conciliar Documents - REF BX830.1962.A3F55 1992

Bible Dictionaries

Anchor Bible Dictionary - REF BS440.A54 1992

Harper's Bible Dictionary - REF BS440.H237 1985

Oxford Companion to the Bible - REF BS440.M434 1993

Theological Dictionary of the New Testament - REF BS2312.K513 1985

Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament - REF BS440.B5713

Bible Commentaries

Harper's Bible Commentary - REF BS491.2.H37 1988

Interpreter's One Volume Commentary on the Bible - REF BS491.2.I57 1971

Jerome Bible Commentary - REF/STACKS BS491.2.B7 1968

New Jerome Biblical Commentary - REF/STACKS BS491.2.N485 1990

Peake's Commentary on the Bible - REF BS491.B57 1962

Islamic Studies resources

Encyclopaedia of Islam First Edition 1913-1936 This link opens in a new window
Originally published in 1913-36 (1st ed.), the Encyclopedia addresses Islam in the context of religion, philology, history, theology and law until early 20th century.
Encyclopaedia of Islam (2nd and 3rd edition) This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia of Islam Online (EI Online) includes current scholarship not only for the field of religion but also philology, history, theology and law.
Christian-Muslim Relations I - 600 - 1500 This link opens in a new window
Over two hundred entries that relate the early history of encounter between the two faiths throughout the Mediterranean basin. Content includes essays on treatment of Christians, commentaries on the Qur’an and Hadith and Sunni law, biographies of the Prophet, and reflections of Muslims in Christian canon law. Entries may display Syriac, Arabic, Greek, Latin and other languages.
Christian-Muslim Relations II - 1500 - 1914 This link opens in a new window
Thousands of entries that reveal Christian-Muslin relations throughout all parts of the world, from the European Renaissance to the outbreak of WWI. Content includes individual works as well as introductions to the periods and areas being covered. A comprehensive source of information about this field.
Qur'ān Studies Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive and contextualized Arabic-English dictionary of Qur'anic usage. Based on Classical Arabic dictionaries and Qur'an commentaries, this work also emphasizes the role of context in determining the meaning-scatter of each vocabulary item. The full-text is searchable in Arabic and English.

Find Books @ Foley

Use the Library Search on the library website to locate books on topics related to philosophy. Library Search provides simple, one-stop searching for books, e-books, videos, articles, digital media and more.

To locate call numbers in Foley Center Library, see our guide for Call Number Locations.

Resources Beyond Foley

If you can't find a book or a book chapter you need at Foley Library, check WorldCat which contains books in libraries worldwide. You can order books or book chapters via InterLibrary Loan easily after setting up an ILL account with Foley library. The world is your library!