In this course, you'll be tasked with creating a research question focused around a clinical intervention. Once you have built a proper PICOT question, you will begin to find evidence to help answer your question.
This module will help guide you through the research portion of this assignment, specifically in finding and accessing evidence. You will need to have a fully formulated PICOT question before you start this process, as your PICOT question will help inform your search strategy, including finding search terms to use in the databases.
This module is set up in a linear format to help you step-by-step with the research process, but feel free to jump around if you are just needing a refresher in certain areas.
If you are brand new to using the library databases and would like to see a general library orientation, please review the following resources.
A crucial part of creating your search strategy is choosing which databases to search. The database(s) you choose to search will be determined by the type of evidence you require.
Book ► The Foley Library Catalog
Clinical Research ► PubMed, CINAHL
Systematic Review ► Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, PubMed, CINAHL
Expert Opinion ► Pubmed, CINAHL, and any article databases that includes academic and trade journals (such as Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, SPORTdiscus, and Biomedical Reference Collection)
Clinical Practice Guideline ► DynaMed, Clinical Key for Nursing, ECRI Guidelines Trust™
Unpublished Clinical Trials ► clinicaltrials.gov, World Health Organization (WHO) International Clinical Trials Registry Platform
Health Statistics & Data Sets ► CDC National Center for Health Statistics, World Health Organization, HealthData.gov
If you are new to the Foley Library, this online orientation will guide you through the basics of using library resources, logging into your account and more.
If you are new to medical research, this guide will introduce you to the basics of finding and accessing biomedical research