Very few databases will have the full text of every article. Sometimes, a database only provides the citation and abstract. This is useful for evaluating the relevance of the article to your research, but not so great, if you decide that you want to read the entire article.
If you find an article citation in PubMed, click on the record. You will then see some buttons in the upper right corner. Often, one of the buttons will lead to the publisher website, and will ask you to pay money to access the article. A good rule of thumb is that if the button doesn't say the word "Free," then it probably isn't. If there isn't already free full text, simply click on the Get It @ Gonzaga button, which will search all of our collections to find access.
If you are redirected to the Library Catalog, make sure to look just below the citation information -- if there are Open Access options, they may be listed here. If not, scroll down the page. You should see a section that will have links to get the full text. If there are links to database or journal subscriptions that carry the article, you can click there to get access. If this is NOT available, you will need to request the article via Interlibrary Loan by clicking on the Request Item via ILL button.
Interlibrary Loan is a free service, and requests for journal articles will generally be delivered to you via PDF within 1-3 business days.
If you are using an EBSCO Database (such as CINAHL or MEDLINE), the process is similar. If there is no full-text, you will see a link that says, Check Gonzaga Libraries for full text options. This will lead you through the same process as earlier, either connecting you directly to the full-text or linking you the Interlibrary Loan request form.
