LibGuides: POLS 498: Senior Seminar (Politics of Sports): Key Library Resources for Politics of Sports

Key Library Resources for Politics of Sports

Reference sources are sources like encyclopedias which provide quick specific facts or overviews of a topic.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Edition, fully searchable. Also includes: Video Collection, Timelines, World Data Analyst, Compare Countries, World Atlas, Notable Quotations, and Gateway to the Classics.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with over 12,000 indexed publications, as well as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
On Campus Guest Access
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology, dating as far back as 1840. Materials cover a wide range of psychological topics, including the psychological aspects of related fields, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

On Campus Guest Access
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete covers all aspects of business topics and scholarship, providing abstracts and full text access to academic journals in all business and related fields.
On Campus Guest Access
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly academic publications covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes more than 1,700 academic journals in over 40 languages from 1955-present.
On Campus Guest Access
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database for core journals in the fields of the arts & humanities, social sciences, and life sciences, providing archival access to each journal beginning with volume 1.
Public Affairs Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Resources for national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. Sources include scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents.

On Campus Guest Access
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, full-text database covering sociology and related disciplines, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
On Campus Guest Access
SPORTDiscus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is a comprehensive database for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals dating back to 1985.
On Campus Guest Access

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Find global information on topics related to business, economics, education, government, health, international studies, politics, science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
Historical New York Times, see New York Times through ProQuest's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
National Newspapers Core (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.
Newspaper Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for 25 national and international newspapers, television and radio transcripts and 200 regional newspapers.
On Campus Guest Access
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014 (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to an online, full-text facsimile of over 200 years of The Times (London), from 1785-2014 with subject, term and topic searching options. Also searchable in Gale Primary Sources.