LibGuides: Human Physiology Resources: Health Statistics &amp; Data Sets

Resources for Health Data

CDC National Center for Health Statistics
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services: Office of Minority Health
The CMS Office of Minority Health (CMS OMH) offers a variety of resources to help increase awareness about health disparities. Our information products, reports on recent research efforts, data sets, and mapping tool will help you advance your work toward health equity
ChildStats: Forum on Child and Family Statistics
The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 23 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth reports written by journalists on congressional legislative issues on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.

FastStats
A-Z index of major statistics on various health topics. References to source material and related pages are provided as well.

Gartner Research This link opens in a new window
Gartner Research offers access to business and technology trends and service solutions, with special reports and analytics on topics related to a wide range of markets and industries. *Login with Gonzaga username and password required.

General Social Survey (GSS)
Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has provided politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spending priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.
Health, United States
Health, United States presents national trends in health statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance, and other health topics.
HealthData.gov
The Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
The project uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
The world's largest archive of digital social science data. Contains over 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. (Note: You must create a personal account to access the datasets. ICPSR IS ONLY AVAILABLE TO THE GONZAGA COMMUNITY.)

AHRQ: SDOH Data and Analytics
From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) this site includes datasets and analytic tools that can power understanding of SDOH.
Mapping Medicare Disparities (MMD) Tool
The CMS Office of Minority Health has designed an interactive map, the Mapping Medicare Disparities (MMD) Tool, to identify areas of disparities between subgroups of Medicare enrollees (e.g., racial and ethnic groups) in health outcomes, utilization, and spending. It is an excellent starting point to understand and investigate geographic and racial and ethnic differences in health outcomes.
Office of Minority Health: Minority Population Profiles
These profiles provide detailed demographic, language fluency (where relevant), education, economic, insurance coverage and health status information, as well as full census reports.
Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. Pew Research Center makes its data available to the public for secondary analysis after a period of time.

Richard K. Miller & Associates This link opens in a new window
Includes market research reports in the fields of entertainment, healthcare, leisure, restaurants, retail, sports, consumer markets and travel and tourism.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer offers access to a suite of online tools and data that allow users to visually explore hundreds of thousands of current and historical data indicators across demography, economy, health, religion, crime and more. Users can customize and visualize maps and data points, create reports and downloads for offline processing, and research concepts in the fields sociology, urban studies, public health, economics, and history.
*If you encounter access issues please try clearing your browser cache.