LibGuides: Human Physiology Resources: Articles

Finding Articles

Before getting started searching for journal articles, we recommend you review the Searching Health Sciences Literature guide, which will help guide you through the process of collecting research for a literature review.

Top Human Physiology Databases

Biomedical Reference Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to full-text, indexed and abstracted biomedical research journals covering a broad range of disciplines, including medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. Coverage also extends to include structured research evaluating current and past health care systems.
On Campus Guest Access
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is an openly searchable and highly comprehensive database of biomedical literature, providing citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text open access content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed Central is a free, open access archive for full-text biomedical and life sciences journal articles. PMC is searchable through the PubMed interface, and is produced and maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
SPORTDiscus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window

More Health Sciences Databases

Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Research based focus on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health are provided in this full-text database.

On Campus Guest Access
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central (BMC), a subset of Springer Nature and one of the first and largest open access STEM publishers, provides access to over 300 peer-reviewed journals in a wide variety of fields, including but not limited to biology, medicine, chemistry, and environmental studies.
Biomedical Reference Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to full-text, indexed and abstracted biomedical research journals covering a broad range of disciplines, including medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. Coverage also extends to include structured research evaluating current and past health care systems.
On Campus Guest Access
Consumer Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes health journals and magazines covering all aspects of family health, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from care to dentistry.
Health Source-Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Consumer oriented health databases, including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health publications.
On Campus Guest Access
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full text academic journals focusing on the health sciences, nursing and medicine.
On Campus Guest Access
MedicLatina (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. This unique database provides access to full text for nearly 140 peer-reviewed medical journals.
On Campus Guest Access
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology, dating as far back as 1840. Materials cover a wide range of psychological topics, including the psychological aspects of related fields, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

On Campus Guest Access

General Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database of academic articles.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete covers all aspects of business topics and scholarship, providing abstracts and full text access to academic journals in all business and related fields.
On Campus Guest Access
Ingenta Connect This link opens in a new window
Tables of contents coverage for over 25,000 scholarly academic journals and full-text access for selected titles.
ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Article database covering a wide range of topics. Includes academic journal and magazine articles.