Skip to main content

Services for Students: FAQ

Library services and tips for students enrolled in on-campus undergraduate and graduate programs.

FAQ - Library Services for Current Students

What resources are available?

  • Library Search for books, eBooks, articles, and other library materials.
  • Research Guides  to help you find the best library resources for your field of study.
  • Tutorials and the Online Library Orientation to help you get started and to improve your research skills.
  • Databases: multidisciplinary and subject specific collections of peer-reviewed articles, including Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, ERIC, JSTOR, MEDLINE, ProQuest, PsycINFO, SocINDEX and more.
  • Online full-text access to articles in thousands of journals, newspapers, and magazines, through our databases or Periodicals @ Foley. 
  • Streaming videos on a wide variety of topics from the Films on Demand and Kanopy databases

What services are available?

What services are NOT available?

  • Our librarians are happy to help you with research projects, but we cannot do your research for you.
  • Getting articles through interlibrary loan and document delivery is pretty fast, but immediate delivery is not supported. See the "How long will it take" section below.
  • Sorry, but Interlibrary loan may not be used to borrow textbooks.

Are these services free?

  • Most listed services are free.
  • All library users are responsible for replacement costs for lost or damaged items.
  • Interlibrary loans are usually free, but occasionally other libraries may charge lending fees and copyright  charges may apply to journal articles. Foley Library covers most of these costs, but if a lending fee exceeds  $17 or a copyright fee exceeds $50, we will contact you and give you the option of paying the difference or canceling the request.

How do I request a book or an article?

  • Use the Gonzaga Library Search to find books in our collection. Log in to place a request.  
  • Create an ILLiad account to request articles that are not available online or to request books that are NOT owned by Foley Library.
  • TIP: Check Periodicals at Foley before submitting an article request. The article you need may be immediately available online through one of our subscriptions.

What is ILLiad?

  • ILLiad is our interlibrary loan (ILL) and document delivery system. You will use it to request books and articles not available through Foley Library. Graduate students may also use ILLiad to request copies of articles from the Foley Library print collection. For more information go to ILLiad FAQ

Do I need my Gonzaga ID number for any of this?

  • Your Gonzaga ID number is also your library account number.

How long will it take to receive requested items?

  • Articles requested through ILLiad typically take 1-2 days to arrive.
  • Books and other materials requested through ILL arrive at Foley Library within 5-10 days.  
  • ILLiad requests are processed on a first-come, first-served basis. At peak times of the semester processing may be slowed by a higher than normal request level. At those times, we can only guarantee processing five requests per person per day. If you have questions about a request contact the Interlibrary Loan office ill@gonzaga.edu.

How will I receive items requested?

  • Articles are always delivered electronically. You will receive an e-mail notification whenever a new article is posted to your ILLiad account. We recommend downloading them as so as they arrive. They are removed from the ILLiad server after 30 days.
  • Interlibrary Loan books may be picked up at the Circulation Desk.You will receive an e-mail when the book is ready for pick up.

How long may I keep books that are sent to me?

  • Books from Foley Library's General Collection check out to undergraduate students for 28 days, and graduate students until the end of the current semester. Items may be renewed two times, as long as no one else needs them.
  • Books obtained through Interlibrary Loan are subject to the due dates set by the lending library, but generally are on loan for 2-4 weeks. You may request a renewal of an ILL book, but renewals are entirely at the discretion of the library that owns the item.

Can I renew books?

  • You are allowed to renew Foley Library books up to two times. Use the Renew Items button on the library homepage.
  • Interlibrary loan renewals must be requested through your ILLiad account or by e-mailing the ILL office ill@gonzaga.edu.

Who do I Contact?

ATAS (Foliotek/Turnitin/TracDat) / 509-313-3972 / atasupport@gonzaga.edu

Book Renewals & Library Account / 509-313-5803 / circulationdesk@gonzaga.edu

Information  & Research Assistance / 800-498-5941 / 509-313-5931 / refdesk@gonzaga.edu

Interlibrary Loan / 509-313-3824 / ill@gonzaga.edu

Library Instruction Session / 509-313-3829 / instruction@gonzaga.edu

Research Appointment Scheduler

Technology Issues / 509-313-5550 /  techsupport@gonzaga.edu

LIBRARY SERVICES AFTER GRADUATION

ONCE YOU HAVE YOUR DEGREE, YOU MAY ASK:   mortar board and diploma

Can I still check books out of Foley Library?

If you want to borrow books from Foley Library, you will now need a Community Borrower card.  There is a $35/year fee which is waived for current members of the Gonzaga Alumni Association. For more information see our Circulation Policies

Can I still use the online databases? 

Sorry, no. Access to library databases is determined by our licensing agreements with vendors. Off campus access is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff of Gonzaga University.  However, if you are on campus, you can access the databases on the library's designated Visitor Computers. See Visitor Policies.

Can I still use my RefWorks account?

Yes! However, you must change your email address in RefWorks settings to a non-GU email address.

Can I still use my digital portfolio after graduation?

Alumni of Gonzaga can get a Foliotek account for a deeply discounted price. Please contact ATAS Support  about getting a Gonzaga affiliated alumni account if you want to continue using your digital portfolio after graduation.

Where can I go if I need to use a database or interlibrary loan?

  • Public libraries also have databases and interlibrary loan services. Get a local library card and ask about available services.
  • Academic libraries and state universities usually offer some services to visitors, such as using online databases when you are in the building. Off campus database access and interlibrary loan services are not provided to the public. However, if you live near a public university, you may be able to get a library card and check out books.