LibGuides: Institute for Climate, Water, and the Environment at Gonzaga University: Climate Work in the Pacific Northwest

Inland Northwest Climate Action

350 Spokane
350 Spokane is a volunteer-run nonprofit building an effective movement for climate action in the greater Spokane area, promoting a just transition to 100% fossil-free energy and a low-carbon economy that works for everyone.
City of Spokane Sustainability Action Committee
The Sustainability Action Subcommittee (SAS) is a group of appointed volunteer community members who care about the greater Spokane community and want to see it thrive. SAS is tasked to research solutions the City and its residents can take to both mitigate our contribution to climate change and help make our community more resilient in the face of these changes.
Spokane Riverkeeper
The Spokane Riverkeeper works to protect the river’s ecological health, its aesthetic integrity and the public uses of the river for future generations of our community. Their goal is a fishable and swimmable Spokane River. They are a member of the international Waterkeeper Alliance movement.
Inland Northwest Land Conservancy
The Conservancy works with the community to identify and protect special places throughout the region. They protect private lands through legal agreements with landowners. They also work to improve lands under their management for habitat, clean water and air, and native plants.
Kootenai Environmental Alliance
Kootenai Environmental Alliance, the oldest non-profit conservation group in Idaho, was established in the '70s to protect North Idaho's natural resources, and continues to serve as a watchdog against overdevelopment and industry in the area.
Palouse-Clearwater Environmental Institute
The PCEI began in the 1980s as an effort to monitor the the Hanford Nuclear Reservation site, but has since become a watchdog for general environmental issues in the Palouse area.
The Lands Council
The Lands Councils works to preserve and revitalize Inland Northwest forests, water, and wildlife through advocacy, education, effective action, and community engagement.
Spokane Public Schools: Student Advisory Council on Climate Change
The Student Advisory Council on Climate Change (SAC3) is an advisory committee to the School Board, providing student perspectives on climate education, and working alongside the School Board and District Administrators to incorporate adequate and updated climate curriculum in all grade levels.

Local, State, and Regional Governance

Spokane Public Works & Utilities
Environmental and sustainability programs sponsored by the City of Spokane's Public Works & Utilities department.
Spokane County Conservation District
The SCD provides technical assistance and tools to help landowners manage and protect land and water resources, working with them on a voluntary basis.
Spokane County Conservation Futures Program
This program began in 1994 with voters approving a property tax levy of (up-to) 6.25-cents per $1000 of property value to acquire, preserve, and otherwise protect the Spokane County's open space, streams, rivers, and other natural resources.
Commute Trip Reduction
In1993, Spokane County implemented the Commute Trip Reduction Law to reduce traffic congestion, air pollution and petroleum consumption through employer-based programs that reduce the number and distance of commute trips in single occupant vehicles.
The Lands Council
The Lands Council is a local grassroots, non-profit dedicated to protecting the quality of life in the Inland Northwest.

Access Washington
The state government's official website. Get to all areas of state governance from here.
Washington State Tribal Directory
The Governor's Office of Indian Affairs Tribal Directory is a comprehensive information source on Native tribes and tribal resources in Washington.
Washington State Department of Ecology: Environmental Information Management (EIM)
Access over 12.5 million environmental records on air, water, soil, sediment, aquatic animals and plants.
Washington State Department of Natural Resources
In 1957, the legislature created the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) to manage state trust lands for the people of Washington.
Washington State Digital Archives
The Washington State Digital Archives is dedicated to the preservation and dissemination of electronic records from both State and Local agencies that have permanent legal, fiscal or historical value.
Washington State Department of Fish and Wildlife
Information from the DFW on fishing, hunting, sustainability, and ecology in Washington.

The Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians
ATNI is a nonprofit organization representing 57 Northwest tribal governments from Oregon, Idaho, Washington, southeast Alaska, Northern California and Western Montana. ATNI is an organization whose foundation is composed of the people it is meant to serve.
NW Energy Coalition
The NW Energy Coalition is an alliance of more than 100 environmental, civic, and human service organizations, progressive utilities, and businesses in Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana and British Columbia. They promote development of renewable energy and energy conservation, consumer protection, low-income energy assistance, and fish and wildlife restoration on the Columbia and Snake rivers.
Colombia River Inter-Tribal Fish Commission
CRITFC provides the Yakima, Umatilla, Warm Springs, and Nez Perce tribes and the region with invaluable biological and ecological research, fisheries management, and other science to support the protection and restoration of Columbia River Basin salmon, lamprey, and sturgeon.
Alaska Department of Fish and Game
Alaska State information about subsistence and recreational fishing and hunting, conservation of vulnerable species, and habitat sustainability.
Idaho Department of Fish and Game
Idaho state hunting, fishing, wildlife, and conservation information.
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
Oregon state information on fishing, hunting, wildlife, and sustainability.

Key Agencies & Organizations on the Environment

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is an independent agency of the United States federal government for environmental protection. The agency conducts environmental assessment, research, and education. It has the responsibility of maintaining and enforcing national standards under a variety of environmental laws, in consultation with state, tribal, and local governments.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is the leading international body for the assessment of climate change. It was established by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) in 1988 to provide the world with a clear scientific view on the current state of knowledge in climate change and its potential environmental and socio-economic impacts.
World Health Organization (WHO)
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.

National-Level Agencies and Organizations of the U.S. Government

U.S. Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board
The U.S. Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board, generally referred to as the Chemical Safety Board or CSB, is an independent U.S. federal agency charged with investigating industrial chemical accidents. The CSB conducts root cause investigations of chemical accidents at fixed industrial facilities.
U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), also known as the Agriculture Department, is the U.S. federal executive department responsible for developing and executing federal laws related to farming, forestry, rural economic development, and food.
National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) is a scientific agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce that focuses on the conditions of the oceans, major waterways, and the atmosphere. NOAA warns of dangerous weather, charts seas, guides the use and protection of ocean and coastal resources, and conducts research to provide understanding and improve stewardship of the environment.
National Science Foundation (NSF)
The National Science Foundation (NSF) is a United States government agency that supports fundamental research and education in all the non-medical fields of science and engineering. Its medical counterpart is the National Institutes of Health. The NSF funds a significant percentage of all public research in the United States.
Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)
The Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) is an agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) that provides technical assistance to farmers and other private landowners and managers. Its mission is to improve, protect, and conserve natural resources on private lands through a cooperative partnership with state and local agencies.
U.S. Department of Justice Environment and Natural Resources Division
The United States Department of Justice Environment and Natural Resources Division (ENRD) is one of seven litigating components of the U.S. Department of Justice. ENRD's mandate is to enforce civil and criminal environmental laws and programs protecting the health and environment of the United States, and to defend suits challenging those laws and programs.
Mine Safety and Health Administration
The Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) is an agency of the U.S. Department of Labor which administers the provisions of the Federal Mine Safety and Health Act of 1977 (Mine Act) to enforce compliance with mandatory safety and health standards as a means to eliminate fatal accidents, to reduce the frequency and severity of nonfatal accidents, to minimize health hazards, and to promote improved safety and health conditions in the nation's mines.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is an independent agency of the United States federal government for environmental protection. The agency conducts environmental assessment, research, and education. It has the responsibility of maintaining and enforcing national standards under a variety of environmental laws, in consultation with state, tribal, and local governments.
Nuclear Regulatory Commission
The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) is an independent agency of the United States government tasked with protecting public health and safety related to nuclear energy. Its functions include overseeing reactor safety and security, administering reactor licensing and renewal, licensing radioactive materials, radionuclide safety, and managing the storage, security, recycling, and disposal of spent fuel.
U.S. Department of Transportation
The United States Department of Transportation (USDOT or DOT) is a federal Cabinet department of the U.S. government concerned with transportation. This includes highways, aviation, railroads, traffic, transit, seaways, and more.

Council on Environmental Quality
The Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ) is a division of the Executive Office of the President that coordinates federal environmental efforts in the United States and works closely with agencies and other White House offices on the development of environmental and energy policies and initiatives.
Office of Science and Technology Policy
The Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) is a department of the United States government, part of the Executive Office of the President (EOP) with a broad mandate to advise the President on the effects of science and technology on domestic and international affairs.