Institute for Climate, Water, and the Environment at Gonzaga University

Provides an array of resources for faculty teaching courses focused on environmental justice, including syllabi, assignments, and other documents.

CLEAN's primary effort is to steward the collection of climate and energy science educational resources and to support a community of professionals committed to improving climate and energy literacy.

In this resource collection at the Science Education Resource Center are activities that incorporate sustainability concepts and place-based learning, introductory courses that feature sustainability themes, and essays on bioregional teaching and learning and the pedagogies of teaching for a sustainable future.

A resource toolkit including activities, syllabi, journalism and popular articles, podcasts, and other media, all focused on reflection, resiliency and justice.

Resources for teaching the film and book Journey of the Universe, which tells the story of the universe from a new perspective, weaving the findings of modern science together with enduring wisdom found in the humanistic and religious traditions of the West, China, India, and indigenous peoples. The authors envision this book may help readers to discover a sense of belonging to a larger Earth community.

NAAEE aggregates information about all aspects of climate education, including resources focusing on climate justice and health, legislative efforts to improve climate literacy, research into effective education strategies, and much more.

A library of climate resources from the 350 Spokane Project, including articles, reports, and infographics.

This site includes highly usable tools to support STEM instruction for youth. The tools are authored and reviewed by teachers and researchers, so each one leverages the best knowledge from practice and from research to inform how to teach STEM subjects.

Climate change impacts our emotional lives too. This shortlist provides resources for navigating climate emotions.

A comprehensive guide by the makers of the Native-Land app that covers discussions of Indigenous history, colonization of Native land, and why land acknowledgements are important.

The STEM Teaching Tools team at UW Seattle runs the Climate Teacher Education Collaborative, a network building resources and capacity to teach about community climate justice projects and civic response to the climate crisis in teacher education programs. The initiative is hosting webinars and events; engaging small collaborative teams in developing open education resources (OER) for use in teacher education; and developing educative case studies of community climate responses.

The Climate Commons is a robust repository of openly accessible and customizable educational materials for K-12 and higher education, focused on climate change, sustainability, and environmentalism.

The National Center for Science Education has developed a set of lessons diving into the science of climate change. The lesson sets cover scientific consensus, understanding climate modeling, local climate change phenomenon and solutions. They are aimed at late middle school and high school, and are easily localized for Spokane climate impacts."

The U.S. NOAA Office of Coast Survey's Historical Map & Chart Collection covers the land and waters of the United States of America, including territories and possessions (past and present). The collection stretches back to the founding of the U.S. Survey of the Coast in 1807.

A searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video from the US Fish & Wildlife Services federal agency, most of which are in the public domain.

The Freshwater and Marine Image Bank is a digital collection from the University of Washington Libraries of images related to freshwater and marine topics. It includes images of fish, shellfish, and marine mammals, pictures of fish hatcheries and dams and vessels, materials related to polar exploration, regional and traditional fisheries, and limnological (freshwater) subjects.

The Earth Science World Image Bank is a service provided by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI). This Image Bank is designed to provide quality geoscience images to the public, educators, and the geoscience community.

Bugwood Images is a grant-funded project by the University of Georgia’s Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health. It provides an easily accessible archive of high quality images for use in educational applications. The focus of Bugwood Images is on species of economic concern. Images cover invasive species, forestry, agriculture, integrated pest management, plants, insects, diseases, fungi, wildlife, fire and other natural resource issues.

The Washington State Geospatial Data Archive (WAGDA) is a resource to locate geospatial data for the state of Washington. It is maintained by the Map Collection & Cartographic Information Services at University of Washington Libraries.

NCEI is responsible for preserving, monitoring, assessing, and providing public access to United States climate and historical weather data and information.

The EPA's main data repository, providing a wealth of data related to climate, sustainability, and the environment in the United States.

MVZ EcoReader is an online database of hand-written and typed field notebooks containing critical ecological and biological details in observations, drawings, and photographs.

The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. The BHL portal provides free access to hundreds of thousands of volumes, comprising over 57 million pages, from the 15th-21st centuries.

DPLA connects people to resources held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format. 

Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films. The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures and significant historical documents on one site, in a variety of ways.

Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases.

Provides open access to digitized images, maps, documents, and newspapers related to the history of Washington State.

The Puget Sound River History Project studies the historical landscape of Puget Sound's lowland rivers and estuaries as a dynamically linked geophysical, ecological, and human system.

The Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL) provides free public access to a wide range of significant resources on water in the Western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material.

This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs, documents, and maps about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Native cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics. From the University of Washington Libraries.

Search Washington State historic newspaper pages from 1836-1963.

This resource from WSU Libraries brings together selected highlights of the ethnic collections from leading repositories in Idaho, Oregon, and Washington.