Archives West provides access to descriptions of primary sources in the western United States, including correspondence, diaries or photographs. Digital reproductions of the materials are available in some cases.
The Western Waters Digital Library (WWDL) provides free public access to a wide range of significant resources on water in the Western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material.
This site provides an extensive digital collection of original photographs, documents, and maps about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Native cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers about both particular tribes and cross-cultural topics. From the University of Washington Libraries.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. The BHL portal provides free access to hundreds of thousands of volumes, comprising over 57 million pages, from the 15th-21st centuries.
DPLA connects people to resources held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
Content on the WDL includes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings, and films. The WDL makes it possible to discover, study, and enjoy cultural treasures and significant historical documents on one site, in a variety of ways.
Multidisciplinary Historical Research Databases at Foley
Gale Primary Sources provides a multi-search option for documents from the following collections: Archives Unbound, Indigenous Peoples in North America, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, The Times (London) Digital Archives 1785-2008, The Times Literary Supplement Archives 1902-2014 and the U.S.Supreme Court Records 1832-1978.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, providing access to online collections which include digitized books, music, college/university publications and manuscripts from libraries around the world.
The U.S. NOAA Office of Coast Survey's Historical Map & Chart Collection covers the land and waters of the United States of America, including territories and possessions (past and present). The collection stretches back to the founding of the U.S. Survey of the Coast in 1807.
The Freshwater and Marine Image Bank is a digital collection from the University of Washington Libraries of images related to freshwater and marine topics. It includes images of fish, shellfish, and marine mammals, pictures of fish hatcheries and dams and vessels, materials related to polar exploration, regional and traditional fisheries, and limnological (freshwater) subjects.
The Earth Science World Image Bank is a service provided by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI). This Image Bank is designed to provide quality geoscience images to the public, educators, and the geoscience community.
Bugwood Images is a grant-funded project by the University of Georgia’s Center for Invasive Species and Ecosystem Health. It provides an easily accessible archive of high quality images for use in educational applications. The focus of Bugwood Images is on species of economic concern. Images cover invasive species, forestry, agriculture, integrated pest management, plants, insects, diseases, fungi, wildlife, fire and other natural resource issues.
The Washington State Geospatial Data Archive (WAGDA) is a resource to locate geospatial data for the state of Washington. It is maintained by the Map Collection & Cartographic Information Services at University of Washington Libraries.