Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing 561

Selecting Appropriate Databases

A crucial part of creating your search strategy is choosing which databases to search. The database(s) you choose to search will be determined by the type of evidence you require. 

Book ► The Foley Library Catalog

Clinical Research ► PubMed, CINAHL

Systematic Review ► Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, PubMed, CINAHL

Expert Opinion ► Pubmed, CINAHL, and any article databases that includes academic and trade journals (such as Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, SPORTdiscus, and Biomedical Reference Collection)

Clinical Practice Guideline ► DynaMed, Clinical Key for Nursing, ECRI Guidelines Trust™

Unpublished Clinical Trials ► clinicaltrials.gov, World Health Organization (WHO) International Clinical Trials Registry Platform

Health Statistics & Data Sets ► CDC National Center for Health Statistics, World Health Organization, HealthData.gov

For Health Sciences research, you will most likely be using PubMed or CINAHL to find academic research articles. 

CINAHL specializes in Nursing and Allied Health literature.

PubMed is a much larger database, focusing broadly on biomedical, life sciences, and health research. The PubMed platform includes the MEDLINE database, as well as PubMed Central's free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. You can also access the MEDLINE database via Ebsco.

 

Access the Resources / Databases

When conducting literature reviews, you may need to cast a wide net and seek out research that might not be found in the traditional journal article databases. Click on the links below to find appropriate resources.

Journal databases button

Clinical registries button

Clinical Practice Guidelines button

Is this peer-reviewed?

Accessibility | Proxy Logout