Nursing 561

For this assignment, you are asked to conduct a search, then go through the PRISMA flow chart steps to exclude articles from your results until you a left with 3-4 articles. You want enough citations that you can comfortably finish the assignment, but not so many that you are having to look through hundreds of results. If you don't have enough results and need to consult multiple databases for this assignment, you'll need to do the PRISMA diagram for each search, and combine your results into one document for submission (so a little math will be required).

Once you've dialed in your search, you can filter your results to just show articles from the past five years -- this will probably knock out a good number of your search results. You should now have a manageable number to work with. Next, you will need to look through your article list and remove articles based on your exclusionary criteria.

Both CINAHL and Pubmed have folder or clipboard / folder functions that allow you to save a list of articles, which will help you to narrow down your results to your final 3-4 articles. Additionally, if you are using multiple database platforms for this assignment, I recommend using Rayyan to manage your citations.

Rayyan is a free platform that helps researchers conduct a systematic review, which makes it really helpful in completing this assignment. If you are searching multiple database platforms (i.e., Pubmed and CINAHL), trying to detect duplications and manage / document both sets of results in your PRISMA chart can be difficult. Rayyan allows you to import your citations and then complete the PRISMA process directly on the Rayyan platform.

Using Rayyan is not required for this assignment, but if you are feeling overwhelmed in managing your citations for this assignment, I definitely recommend trying it out.

STEP ONE: EXPORT YOUR CITATIONS

• Once you have completed your initial search in the library database(s), export your results to an RIS file. See below for more information about doing this in CINAHL / MEDLINE or in Pubmed.

STEP TWO: CREATE A RAYYAN ACCOUNT

• Rayyan has paid tiers, but you can use a free account to complete this assignment.

STEP THREE: CREATE A NEW PROJECT IN RAYYAN & IMPORT YOUR CITATION FILES

• Find those exported citation files on your computer, and import them into your new project

STEP FOUR: START YOUR REVIEW & DOCUMENT IN PRISMA

• Once your citations have been imported, you can have Rayyan automatically detect your duplicates and merge them into single records. Rayyan will keep track of this for you so you know how many duplicates to include on your PRISMA chart.
• Going to the Screening tab will allow you to browse through the list of results, and reject any articles that don't seem relevant or otherwise don't meet your criteria. All articles that you reject will be kept track of, making it easy to update your PRISMA chart at each step.
• Once it is time to find the full text of the articles, look for the URL in the article's record -- this will bring you back to the database, where you will be able to access the full text or (if there is no full text in the database), search Gonzaga's collections for other access options.

After you've filtered your articles to show just those published in the past five years, you can click on the "Share" button to add your search results to a folder:

Once your articles have been added to the folder, click on the folder to see all of your search results in a manageable list. You can then review the articles in your list and delete ones that meet any exclusionary criteria (aren't on topic, poor study design, not peer reviewed, etc.).

Once you have your citations in your folder, you can email the results to yourself or save them as a file (so you can review them offline). If you have created a free EBSCO account, you can also save your results so you can easily pick up where you left off.

Similar to CINAHL, you can add all of your citations to your clipboard by clicking Send to  > Clipboard

Once you have your citations in your clipboard, you can sort the articles by author, making it easy for you to quickly review the list and see if there are any duplicates that need to be removed.

After you've removed any duplicates, you can email the results to yourself, save them as a file, or even add them to Zotero (Send to > Citation Manager). If you have created a free Pubmed account, you can also save your results to a new Collection or save your search so you can easily get back to it.