LibGuides: Political Science: POLS 376: International Organizations

International Organizations

This page was created for students in Prof. Taninchev's Spring 2021 International Organizations course.

Background Information on Specific IGOs

Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations by Gale This classic reference covers more than 31,000 multi-national, national and international membership organizations in more than 190 countries of the world, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe - including U.S.-based organizations with a bi-national or multinational membership. Entries provide the names of directors, executive officers or other personal contacts; telephone, fax, electronic mail and websites; the group's history, governance, staff, membership, budget and affiliations; the goals and activities of the international organization, including research, awards, certification, education, lobbying and other important activities; and publication and convention information.
ISBN: 9781410363794
Publication Date: 2019

The Open Yearbook of International Organizations This information is part of the Open Yearbook, a free service of UIA's subscription-based Yearbook of International Organizations (YBIO). It includes profiles of non-profit organizations working worldwide in all fields of activity. The information contained in the profiles and search functionality of this free service are limited.

The Encyclopedia of Political Science by George Thomas Kurian (Editor); James E. Alt (Editor); Simone Chambers (Editor) A 21st century approach to the study of politics Political science needs a resource that serves as a core reference to the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics and that highlights the intersections of politics with other disciplines. The Encyclopedia of Political Science (TEPS) is designed to fill that need. It is the encyclopedia for political science in the twenty-first century. Prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association (APSA), TEPS brings together a distinguished editorial board and over 600 distinguished and rising scholars to chronicle and assess the core issues that have long concerned students of politics. This comprehensive, multi-volume work traces the evolution of political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices from across the world. As it examines the interplay of political ideas and processes, the encyclopedia also conveys the vitality and excitement of politics in practice. Cognizant of the global nature of political ideas and movements, TEPS reflects a wide range of concepts and frameworks, both Western and non-Western, national and international. An authoritative survey of the state of politics and political science, this five- volume work consists of more than 1,500 A to Z signed entries by contributors from over 30 countries, including 300 overview articles or interpretive essays. The encyclopedia supports all of the core undergraduate courses in political science: American government, comparative politics, international relations, public policy, public administration, political behavior, political theory, and political science methods. It will be an essential reference for all academic and public libraries. Quick Facts Thematic Table of Contents that maps major subfields and topics in politics Over 1,500 A to Z entries Contributing essays from scholars across the globe Prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association
ISBN: 9781608712663
Publication Date: 2011
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics and International Relations by Garrett W. Brown; Iain McLean; Alistair McMillan This bestselling dictionary contains over 1,700 entries on all aspects of politics and international relations. Written by a leading team of political scientists, it embraces the multi-disciplinary spectrum of political theory including political thinkers, history, institutions, theories, andschools of thought, as well as notable current affairs that have shaped attitudes to politics.Fully updated for its fourth edition, the dictionary has had its coverage of international relations heavily revised and expanded, reflected in its title change, and it includes a wealth of new material in areas such as international institutions, peace building, human security, security studies,global governance, and open economy politics. It also incorporates recommended web links that can be accessed via a regularly checked and updated companion website, ensuring that the links remain relevant.The dictionary is international in its coverage and will prove invaluable to students and academics studying politics and related disciplines, as well as politicians, journalists, and the general reader seeking clarification of political terms.
ISBN: 9780199670840
Publication Date: 2018

International Relations Literature

International Relations - Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
An international relations subset of the larger Oxford Bibliographies, including an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. This resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Dedicated to research on international affairs, CIAO includes many different document types, including books, journals, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences and policy briefs, as well as case studies. Includes publications from 1991-present.
Public Affairs Index (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Resources for national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. Sources include scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents.

On Campus Guest Access
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly academic publications covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes more than 1,700 academic journals in over 40 languages from 1955-present.
On Campus Guest Access

Relevant Journals (Available Through Foley)

International Organization
International Organization is a leading peer-reviewed journal that covers the entire field of international affairs.
The Review of International Organizations
The Review of International Organizations publishes original scientific contributions in the entire field of political economy, with a focus on the policies and structure of international organizations, such as the WTO, World Bank, NATO, WHO, the European Court of Human Rights, and the UN.
Global Governance
Global Governance showcases the expertise of leading scholars and practitioners concerned with the processes of international cooperation and multilateralism.
World Politics
Since 1948, World Politics has published analytical and theoretical articles, review articles, and research notes in international relations, comparative politics, political theory, foreign policy, and modernization.
International Studies Quarterly
International Studies Quarterly (ISQ) is the flagship journal of the International Studies Association. It seeks to publish leading scholarship that engages with significant theoretical, empirical, and normative subjects in international studies.

Political Science

International Organizations

Background Information on Specific IGOs

International Relations Literature

Relevant Journals (Available Through Foley)

Citations