A research guide to introduce you to the field of political science. You'll find the materials, search tools, and other resources you need to start your research. If you need any assistance, please contact your librarian.
Resources for national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. Sources include scholarly journals, conference papers, trade publications and government documents.
Dedicated to research on international affairs, CIAO includes many different document types, including books, journals, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences and policy briefs, as well as case studies. Includes publications from 1991-present.
Full text access for nearly 400 periodicals as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 500 titles pertaining to all branches of the military and federal government.
Index of scholarly academic publications covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Indexes more than 1,700 academic journals in over 40 languages from 1955-present.
America: History and Life covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. It indexes over 1,700 journals as far back as 1910.
Newspapers
Foley Library offers full online subscriptions to the following newspapers (click on the links for instructions to activate your subscription):
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with over 12,000 indexed publications, as well as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Covers a broad range of subjects including the arts, business, education, general interests, humanities, international topics, law, military, multicultural issues, psychology, the sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Interdisciplinary database for core journals in the fields of the arts & humanities, social sciences, and life sciences, providing archival access to each journal beginning with volume 1.
Provides full-text access to over 500 journals from university presses and scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and others.
