Skip to main content

Faculty Services @ Foley Library: Collection Development

Collection Development Policy

Collection development involves the selection of materials for the Foley Center Library as well as the maintenance of the collection including weeding, replacements, and assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of the collection. At Gonzaga collection development is a cooperative venture of the Foley faculty and teaching faculty with the Collection Development Librarian overseeing policy and overall development of the collection. Faculty work with the appropriate library subject bibliographers on collection needs and priorities.

All members of the Gonzaga community are encouraged to recommend titles for inclusion in the collection. Materials selected should reflect the curriculum and disciplines taught at the university with primary emphasis on our undergraduate students. A copy of the Collection Development Policy which details collection history, acquisition and guidelines is available below to download or from the Collection Development Librarian.

Note on Privacy: If you ask the Foley Library to notify you when a requested item arrives, your name will be associated with the title in our records. Although library policy is not divulge the identity of a title's requestor, should a government agency legally require this information we will be forced to supply it. If you do not wish for this information to be available do not fill in the "Requested By" box on the online form. Of course, in this case we will not know who you are and will not be able to notify you when the item is ready to circulate.

Purchasing of library materials is done by the Acquisitions staff of Materials Management.

All questions regarding collection development issues should go to:

Linda Pierce
Associate Professor
Acquisitions and Collection Development Librarian
509-313-3834
pierce@gonzaga.edu

Subject Bibliographers

Library faculty are assigned departments to assist in collection development and acquisitions. The following are assignments for the current academic year.

Art - Kelly Jenks jenks@gonzaga.edu

Biology - Shenae Hennaigr Barkas hennagir-barkas@gonzaga.edu

Business - John Spencer spencer@gonzaga.edu

Chemistry - Shenae Hennaigr Barkas hennagir-barkas@gonzaga.edu

Classical Civilizations - Caitlin Bagley bagley@gonzaga.edu

Communications-- Undergrad - Anthony Tardiff tardiff@gonzaga.edu

Communication Leadership - John Spencer spencer@gonzaga.edu

Counselor Education - Theresa Kappus kappus@gonzaga.edu 

Curriculum Library - Mary Moloney moloney@gonzaga.edu

Doctoral Studies - John Spencer spencer@gonzaga.edu

Education - Theresa Kappus kappus@gonzaga.edu

Engineering - Sydney Chambers chambers@gonzaga.edu

English - Caitlin Bagley bagley@gonzaga.edu

Environmental Studies - Shenae Hennaigr Barkas hennagir-barkas@gonzaga.edu

ESL Readers - Kelly Jenks jenks@gonzaga.edu

History - David Kingma kingma@gonzaga.edu

Human Physiology - Theresa Kappus kappus@gonzaga.edu

Integrated Media - Anthony Tardiff tardiff@gonzaga.edu

Leadership and Administration - Theresa Kappus kappus@gonzaga.edu

MATESOL - John Spencer spencer@gonzaga.edu

Math - Shenae Hennaigr Barkas hennagir-barkas@gonzaga.edu

Military Science - David Kingma kingma@gonzaga.edu

Modern Languages - Caitlin Bagley bagley@gonzaga.edu

Music - Kelly Jenks jenks@gonzaga.edu

Native American Studies - David Kingma kingma@gonzaga.edu

Nursing - Theresa Kappus kappus@gonzaga.edu

Organizational Leadership - John Spencer spencer@gonzaga.edu

Philosophy - Caitlin Bagley bagley@gonzaga.edu

Physical Education - Theresa Kappus kappus@gonzaga.edu

Physics -Shenae Hennaigr Barkas hennagir-barkas@gonzaga.edu

Political Science - Sydney Chambers chambers@gonzaga.edu

Psychology - Anthony Tardiff tardiff@gonzaga.edu

Reference- John Spencer spencer@gonzaga.edu

Religious Studies - Stephanie Plowman plowman@gonzaga.edu

Sociology - Anthony Tardiff tardiff@gonzaga.edu

Special Collections - Stephanie Plowman plowman@gonzaga.edu

Special Education - Theresa Kappus kappus@gonzaga.edu

Teacher Education - Theresa Kappus kappus@gonzaga.edu

Theatre and Dance - Theresa Kappus kappus@gonzaga.edu

TESOL/ESL - Kelly Jenks jenks@gonzaga.edu

Women's and Gender Studies - Caitlin Bagley bagley@gonzaga.edu

 

Request a Purchase

Use the forms below to ask Foley Library to purchase an item. Please review the Collection Development Policy for information about submitting a request. Contact Linda Pierce with questions about purchases.

Acquisitions and Collection Dev. Librarian

Linda Pierce's picture
Linda Pierce
Contact:
Foley Library - Third Floor

509 313-3834