LibGuides: ENGL 202 Science Fiction Research: Using Gale Literature Center

Differentiating Gale Resources

There are many databases in the A-Z list that start with Gale (a vendor), and many that have the word "Literature" in them. It's confusing, even for librarians!

All are good, but for your search please focus mostly on Gale Literature Resource Center.

Others that might be helpful are listed below:

Gale Literary Index This link opens in a new window Gale Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for titles of works into one source.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window Gale Literature (formerly Artemis Literary Sources) is a discovery tool for searching a wide range of literature resources. It includes biographical information, literary overviews, literary criticism and reviews on more than 150,000 writers from all time periods and from around the world.
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window Includes comprehensive literary analysis, both the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals. Also searchable in Gale Literature.
Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Includes biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 150,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Also searchable in Gale Literature.
Gale Literature: Book Review Index This link opens in a new window Includes more than 5.6 million book reviews and provides quick access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests.
Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors Online This link opens in a new window Current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 modern authors. Search for an author by name, title of work, subject/genre, nationality, date and place of birth, honors, awards, and other fields.
Gale Literature: LitFinder This link opens in a new window Literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Including more than 132,000 full-text poems and 670,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. Biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary are also included.

Gale Literature Resource Center Scope

The Gale Literature Resource Center is smaller in scope and tends to have primarily biographies and articles about established authors in the canon. So while you will find many historic authors in there, not many living authors are indexed in there yet.

For example, despite having won multiple Hugo Awards, and being well known in the science fiction world, NK Jemison is still actively publishing and has not yet been added into the Gale Literature Resource Center.