LibGuides: Educational Leadership & Administration: Articles

Core Education Databases

Communication Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A database of articles in communication fields, including mass media, communications theory, linguistics, organizational communication, phonetics and speech pathology.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is the primary database for education, providing access to education literature and resources dating back to 1966.
Professional Development (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Indexes core journals for professional educators and education leaders.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Covers the fields of literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and others.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database….encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.

General Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text core scholarly journals beginning with v. 1 of each title. Principally a social sciences and humanities database, but there are also article holdings from journals dedicated to art, business, law, mathematics & statistics, the biological sciences, and other disciplines.
ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of subjects including the arts, business, education, general interests, humanities, international topics, law, military, multicultural issues, psychology, the sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology, dating as far back as 1840.

Gonzaga Library Search

Start here to find hundreds of thousands of books, journals, audio-visual media, and more, housed at Foley and available to you electronically.

Journals by Subject

The Periodicals@Foley link will allow you to search for specific journals. If you want to see a list of journals in education and related subjects check out specific subject links.

Featured Education Journals

American Educational Research Journal

Canadian Journal of Education

More about the ERIC education database

ERIC can be accessed through the library , but it is also a free resource on the web at http://eric.ed.gov/.

UNIQUE TO ERIC - In addition to journal articles, ERIC indexes ERIC Documents. These can be special reports, white papers, articles, curriculum materials, and books. Most are available in full-text online through eric.ed.gov . When searching ERIC on the EBSCO platform, look for the Full Text from ERIC link on items classified as ERIC Documents (they have accession numbers starting with ED). Click the link to get the full text.

How ERIC Can Help You Write a Research Paper
Excellent 8-minute video showing how to search ERIC at eric.gov
more...less...
FYI - The library also offers the ERIC database through EBSCO, with direct connections to the library's full-text holdings.
ERIC Field Guide
Defines the various fields you find in an ERIC database record.