Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cataloging, Acquisitions, and Serials

Collection Development Policy

Collection development involves the selection of materials for the Foley Center Library as well as the maintenance of the collection including weeding, replacements, and assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of the collection. At Gonzaga collection development is a cooperative venture of the Foley faculty and teaching faculty with the Collection Development Librarian overseeing policy and overall development of the collection. Faculty work with the appropriate library subject bibliographers on collection needs and priorities.

All members of the Gonzaga community are encouraged to recommend titles for inclusion in the collection. Materials selected should reflect the curriculum and disciplines taught at the university with primary emphasis on our undergraduate students. A copy of the Collection Development Policy which details collection history, acquisition and guidelines is available below to download or from the Collection Development Librarian.

Note on Privacy: If you ask the Foley Library to notify you when a requested item arrives, your name will be associated with the title in our records. Although library policy is not divulge the identity of a title's requestor, should a government agency legally require this information we will be forced to supply it. If you do not wish for this information to be available do not fill in the "Requested By" box on the online form. Of course, in this case we will not know who you are and will not be able to notify you when the item is ready to circulate.

Purchasing of library materials is done by the Acquisitions staff of Materials Management.

Liaison Librarians

Librarians are available to work with students and faculty on all aspects of library research as well as providing assistance with library resources and services.  Faculty who want to request specific library purchases should contact the librarian/liaison for their department.  Students who need help with a specific research topic should contact the librarian listed for the academic discipline. 

Art - Caitlin Bagley


Biology - Nicole Gustavsen 


Business - Caitlin Bagley


Chemistry - Nicole Gustavsen


Classical Civilizations - Stephanie Plowman


Communication Studies - Anthony Tardiff


Computer Science & Computational Thinking (CAS) Nicole Gustavsen 


Critical Race & Ethnic Studies -  Shayna Pekala 


Economics - Caitlin Bagley


Education - Kelly Jenks


Engineering - Nicole Gustavsen


English - Caitlin Bagley


Environmental Studies - Nicole Gustavsen 


History - Anthony Tardiff


Human Physiology - Candise Branum


Integrated Media / Visual Literacy - Anthony Tardiff


International Studies - Shayna Pekala


Leadership Studies - Kelly Jenks


Mathematics - Nicole Gustavsen

Military Science - Anthony Tardiff


Modern Languages - Caitlin Bagley


Music - Caitlin Bagley


Native American Studies - Shayna Pekala


Nursing - Candise Branum


Organizational Leadership - Kelly Jenks


Philosophy - Stephanie Plowman


Physics - Nicole Gustavsen


Political Science -  Shayna Pekala


Psychology - Kelly Jenks


Religious Studies - Sonia Dhaliwal


Sociology - Kelly Jenks


Special Collections & Archives - Stephanie Plowman


Special Education - Kelly Jenks


Theatre and Dance - Caitlin Bagley


Women's and Gender Studies - Shayna Pekala 

Accessibility | Proxy Logout