LibGuides: Business: Find Web Resources

Lots of useful, current, and important business information can be found online. Company websites are a great source to start with. Professional associations may post standards and practices, newsletters, research, and articles relevant to their members. Information from the government, like the Economic Census and Decennial Census, or non-governmental organizations (NGOs) like the World Bank, is freely available and can be used to identify trends in a sector or the demographics of a marketing segment. And news organizations that focus on business and the economy like CNN, Bloomberg, and the Wall Street Journal provide some free and some subscriber content.

Web Resources

County Business Patterns US Census Bureau series that provides subnational economic data for establishments with paid employees by industry and employment size. Data are useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for other statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses.
Current Industrial Reports (CIR) The CIR program from the US Census Bureau provides monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity. The data are used to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector.
data.census.gov Access data collected in the decennial US census about people living and working in American communities. View and modify tables using data points like age, sex, education level, employment rate, earnings/income at national, state, and local (down to the census block) levels.
Economic Census The official measure of US businesses and the economy. Conducted by the US Census Bureau every five years (those ending in 2 or 7), the survey serves as the statistical benchmark for current economic activity, such as the Gross Domestic Product and the Producer Price Index.
Federal Reserve
International Monetary Fund The IMF is a global organization that works to achieve sustainable growth and prosperity for all of its 190 member countries by supporting economic policies that promote financial stability and monetary cooperation. Find here research, reports, and news (including "Country Focus").
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) The standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the US economy. Use NAICS to find business and industry information when searching US Census Bureau data as well as in library databases like ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry and Business Source Complete.
United States Department of Commerce Commerce collects, stores, and analyzes data on economic indicators, population, the environment, and related topics to make the US economy competitive and prosperous.
US Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) Collects and compiles data about the US economy. Provides interactive data at national, state, and local levels.
US Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) The BLS collects, calculates, analyzes, and publishes data essential to the public, employers, researchers, and government organizations. The BLS measures labor market activity, working conditions, price changes, and productivity in the US economy to support public and private decision making.
US Census Bureau Collects and analyzes data about the people and economy of the US, primarily through the decennial census but also through the American Community Survey, Census of Governments, and Economic Census.
Washington State and County QuickFacts Easy, quick listing of key demographic, economic, and geographic statistics for the state of Washington and its counties.
World Bank An international organization formed in the 1940s to coordinate economic cooperation and reconstruction following World War II. It went on to fund infrastructure projects and forward sustainable development goals. As a result of this activity, it collects, analyzes, and disseminates global economic data.
World Bank - Open Knowledge Repository Online repository for annual reports, country strategy documents, white papers, and working papers.
World Trade Organization The WTO is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations to help producers of goods and services, exporters, and importers conduct their business.

Federal Reserve
Nasdaq (National Association of Securities Dealers Automated Quotations) The latest stock market news, stock information & quotes, data analysis reports, as well as a general overview of the market landscape from Nasdaq.
New York Stock Exchange The world’s largest equities exchange. Find information on the performance of specific stocks and funds and the market in general. Provides news, analysis, insights, and data on equities and markets.
RePEc: Research Papers in Economics RePEc organizes and collects bibliographic data for journal articles, books, conference proceedings, white papers, and other publications in economics. Library users can discover something in RePEc and check their library’s collections for access to the material.

Accounting and Financial Women's Alliance "AFWA promotes the professional growth of women in all facets of accounting and finance. Members increase their career potential by connecting with colleagues, receiving education and mentorship to advance their careers, and developing leadership skills."
American Accounting Association Resources for scholars, students, and practitioners of accounting. Information about publishing in AAA journals, resources for instructors and students like webinars and newsletters, networking, and professional development and practice.
American Advertising Federation An organization that includes members across all disciplines and career levels in advertising. For those new to the fast-paced world of advertising or seasoned professionals, the AAF helps advertisers advance their careers and build connections.
American Finance Association "The premier academic organization devoted to the study and promotion of knowledge about financial economics."
American Institute of CPAs Working to power opportunity, trust and prosperity for people, businesses and economies worldwide. The AICPA-CIMA advocates for the public interest and business sustainability on current and emerging issues
American Management Association "Redefining how business professionals think and work for more than 100 years by providing unparalleled development solutions that empower professionals to tackle business challenges."
American Marketing Association "The essential community for marketers."
Association for Supply Chain Management The ASCM is the global leader in supply chain organizational transformation, innovation and leadership. As the largest non-profit association for supply chain, ASCM connects companies around the world to the newest thought leadership on all aspects of supply chain.
Business Professionals of America The nation's leading CTSO (Career Technical Student Organization) providing students and members with invaluable skill development and the opportunity to make personal connections.
National Association of Black Accountants NABA, Inc. is a nonprofit membership association dedicated to bridging the opportunity gap for Black Business Leaders in accounting, finance business, and entrepreneurship. NABA provides education, resources, and meaningful career connections to professional and student members.
National Business Association The National Business Association is committed to assisting entrepreneurs and small business owners in all stages of their business.
National Federation of Independent Business "NFIB is the voice of small business, advocating on behalf of America’s small and independent business owners, both in Washington, D.C., and in all 50 state capitals. NFIB is nonprofit, nonpartisan, and member-driven."
National Association of Sales Professionals The National Association of Sales Professionals empowers and connects influencers, sales professionals, and industry experts globally. They set the standard for sales certification & training by supporting people to create long term success in the rapidly evolving world of sales.
Society for Human Resource Management "SHRM is a member-driven catalyst for creating better workplaces where people and businesses thrive together."

Ethics Unwrapped: Beyond Business Ethics Video Series Ethics Unwrapped is produced by the Business, Government & Society Department at the McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin. The videos use the tools of psychology and related fields, to explore behavioral ethics and the organizational pressures and psychological biases that often cause well-intentioned people to act unethically.

C-SPAN Archives This link opens in a new window Includes digital archives of all U. S. congressional sessions and committee hearings since 1987 with linked full-text from the Congressional Record. Programs are searchable by subject, speakers, committees, etc.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films On Demand provides streaming educational videos for the Gonzaga community 24/7. With access to almost 40,000 academic videos and over 300,000 segments, the content covers all fields, including business, the arts and humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Internet Archive Moving Images This link opens in a new window Contains over 1 million digital movies uploaded by archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy streaming video service provides access to 5000 titles in a wide range of disciplines from nursing and medicine to the social sciences and humanities. It also includes a large number of feature films, including the Criterion collections. Not every film is licensed; if you see a film you’d like to provide to your class, email Shenae Hennagir Barkas, hennagir-barkas@gonzaga.edu, to submit a request.
Swank This link opens in a new window Swank is a video streaming service for feature films that are being used in classes this academic year. The selection of films will vary depending on faculty needs. Titles range from older Hollywood classics, to Hitchcock films and also some newer releases. Direct Links may be shared with an unlimited number of students who may view the movie at the same time.

AdViews Thousands of television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s.
International Business Resources | globalEDGE Created by the International Business Center and the Eli Broad College of Business at Michigan State University, globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals to information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
StartUp Spokane A partnership between Spokane Public Library and Spokane County Library District with resources to launch and grow a business.
Wolfram|Alpha Wolfram|Alpha is a computational knowledge engine: it generates output by doing computations from its own internal knowledge base, instead of searching the web and returning links. Give it a try, it's fantastic!