LibGuides: Business: Company Research

IBISWorld Trial Until March 31, 2024

Have feedback on how IBISWorld will benefit your research and coursework? Please submit it to Business and Leadership Studies Librarian Daniel Pringle: 509-313-5618 pringled@gonzaga.edu

General Process

The information you will find on a company depends upon several factors. Before you begin your research, ask yourself these questions:

1. Are there variations of the company name?
Different research resources may use alternative spellings or abbreviations of a company name. Some databases require a ticker symbol to find company information.

2. Is the company public or private?
It is usually easier to find information on public companies. For tips on finding information on private companies, go to the "Private Companies" tab on this box.

3. What about the company's "family tree"?
Is it a parent company? Division of another? Foreign-owned? Family-owned?

4. Is the company newsworthy?
Companies tend to be in the news when they want the PR, when they are performing extremely well, or when they are having problems. Even a small private company may be considered newsworthy by local press.

To get help with these questions, start with a directory listing or company profile. Go to the “Databases” tab at the top of the page, and look for the link to "Company Profiles."

A company profile may be a brief directory listing or a detailed report, with information ranging from a headquarters address to lengthy descriptions of the company's operations and financial performance.

Financials for companies and financial norms for industries may be found in a variety of sources, including directories, databases and government or commercial websites.

Tip: If the company is public, a likely source is the company's website. To find financial statements on a company website, look for headings such as "Investor Relations," "About Us," or "SEC Filings."

When you find company financials, look for:

The report date
The currency used (in thousands, in millions, in U.S. dollars, etc.)
Whether or not the figures are "estimates."
The source for the financials (the company, the SEC, a directory listing, a database report)

Companies tend to be in the news when they want the PR, when they are performing extremely well, or when they are having problems. Even a small private company may be considered newsworthy by local or national press. Company news may be found in a variety of publication types, including:

Company press releases (often available on company website)
National newspapers, such as the Wall Street Journal
State and local newspapers
Regional business publications, such as Indianapolis Business Journal
Business news magazines
Trade periodicals, such as Automotive News

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 1,200 business publications on every major industry including finance, insurance, transportation, construction and many others.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes books, case studies, company profiles, economic reports, industry reports, SWOT analyses, in addition to nearly 2,000 peer-reviewed journals.
EDGAR This link opens in a new window
A U.S. Government database of filings and forms from the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
Regional Business News (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News provides full text coverage for more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas in the United States.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Gonzaga students faculty and staff now have full complimentary access to the Wall Street Journal.

Student Membership
Students are required to enter expected graduation date & year when activating WSJ membership. This is the membership expiration date. Once you have followed the steps for first-time users and activated your account, it should allow you full access until the membership expiration date with no further action on your part. If you graduate later than expected and lose access, you can always reactivate your membership.

Faculty and Staff Membership
All faculty & staff retain WSJ membership for one year after activating. Once you have followed the steps for first-time users and activated your WSJ account using your Gonzaga network login and email address, it should allow you full access for 52 weeks with no further action on your part. After that, you will have to reactivate your membership by coming to this page and navigating to WSJ through the above link which routes through the Gonzaga proxy server.

WSJ Apps
Your Gonzaga account grants you access to all of the Wall Street Journal apps. To download your smartphone app, visit now.wsj.com/mobile.

Unlike public companies that trade on a stock exchange, private companies do not have to provide information to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) or investors.

Try these tips for finding and using information on private companies:

Look for directory listings, company profiles, and news articles using the databases listed in the databases tab.
Try to find local news coverage in the areas where the company's headquarters or other facilities are located.
Financials for private companies are often reported as "estimates." The figures may be outdated by a year or more. Use with discretion, and always cite your source.
Check the Internet. Many private companies have websites with useful information.