LibGuides: Chemistry &amp; Biochemistry Research Guide: Chemical Information

Chemical Information Guides and Tools

SciFinder
SciFinder is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. Logins and client software provided by the Chemistry Department and are NOT available directly through Foley.
SciFinder is a product of the American Chemical Society’s Chemical Abstracts Services division.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an online, fully searchable data reference book of chemical information used by scientists worldwide. The Handbook regularly updates existing tables with the most current data and introduces new topics of interest to the scientific community.

Cambridge Crystallographic Data Center Solutions
CCDC provide a range of solutions and services to meet the requirements of scientists, from free-to-use data and tools to licensed packages for in-depth analysis and advanced visualisation.
CAS Common Chemistry
An open community resource for accessing chemical information. Nearly 500,000 chemical substances from CAS Registry cover areas of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals. This chemical information, curated by expert scientists, is provided in alignment with the mission of the American Chemical Society.
ChemIDplus
A dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). ChemIDplus includes links to NLM and other databases and resources, including links to federal, state and international agencies. ChemIDplus is a product of the NIH.
ChemView
This open database provides information on chemical health and safety data received by the US EPA and EPA's assessments and regulatory actions for specific chemicals under the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). ChemView contains no confidential business information (CBI).
EarthChem
EarthChem supports innovation and advances in the Earth, Ocean, and Environmental Sciences through data services: data mining and analysis, preservation, and publication.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
The National Institute of Science & Technology Chemistry WebBook is an open database that provides convenient access to a variety of physical and chemical property data on well defined chemical species and reactions. The site is used by scientists, engineers, educators and the general public.
Organic Syntheses
Since 1921, Organic Syntheses has provided the chemistry community with detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Each procedure is written in considerably more detail as compared to typical experimental procedures in other journals, and each reaction with its characterization data has been repeated several times and carefully "checked" for reproducibility in the laboratory of a member of the Board of Editors.

Open Access Computational Platforms and Toolkits for Chemistry

WolframAlpha: Chemistry
WolframAlpha is a computational knowledge engine that generates output by doing computations from its own internal knowledge base, instead of searching the web and returning links. This page is for WolframAlpha tools specifically for chemistry, including chemical properties, quantities, compounds, solutions, and more.
KnowledgeDoor
KnowledgeDoor is an open access virtual depot of constants, conversion factors, and mathematical equations. It includes calculators, an Elements Handbook, and a Units and Constants Handbook.
Photographic Periodic Table of the Elements
Offers quick and easy factual information and images of the elements in the Periodic Table.
Dynamic Periodic Table
Comprehensive information source on the elements in the periodic table.

TOXNET Resources

TOXNET was a robust toxicology resources service provided by the U.S. National Institute of Health's National Library of Medicine. As part of a broader NLM reorganization, most of NLM's toxicology information services were integrated into other NLM products and services. A list of the most relevant resources previously available through TOXNET are provided here.

PubCHEM
PubChem is an open chemical information database from the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubChem is a key chemistry resource for scientists, students, and the general public.

more... less...

PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
ChemIDplus
A dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). ChemIDplus includes links to NLM and other databases and resources, including links to federal, state and international agencies. ChemIDplus is a product of the NIH.
Comparative Toxicogenomics Database
CTD is a robust, publicly available database that aims to advance understanding about how environmental exposures affect human health. It provides manually curated information about chemical–gene/protein interactions, chemical–disease and gene–disease relationships. These data are integrated with functional and pathway data to aid in development of hypotheses about the mechanisms underlying environmentally influenced diseases.
Consumer Products Information Database
The Consumer Product Information Database (cpid) is an open database containing health effects information for products used in the home and in some commercial/institutional settings that contain chemicals.
Haz-Map
Haz-Map is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents. The main links in Haz-Map are between chemicals and occupational diseases. These links have been established using current scientific evidence.

more... less...

Haz-Map shows the diseases linked to each agent and the agents linked to each disease. Agents are chemical such as formaldehyde, or biological such as grain dust. Haz-Map links jobs and hazardous job tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms. In Haz-Map, chronic occupational diseases are linked to both jobs and industries, while acute diseases and infectious diseases are linked only to jobs. Cancers are not linked to jobs, industries or findings. The information in Haz-Map comes from textbooks, journal articles, the Documentation of the Threshold Limit Values (published by ACGIH), and electronic databases such as NLM's ChemIDplus. The author of Haz-Map is Jay A. Brown, MD, MPH, Board Certified in Occupational Medicine.
EPA Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS)
IRIS Program supports EPA’s mission to protect human health and the environment by identifying and characterizing the health hazards of chemicals found in the environment. Each IRIS assessment can cover a chemical, a group of related chemicals, or a complex mixture.
ALTBIB: Alternatives to Animal Testing (NIH)
ALTBIB provides access to animal alternatives news sources, such as the Interagency Coordinating Committee on the Validation of Alternative Methods (ICCVAM). The portal has an extensive collection of links to key organizations providing information on alternatives to animal testing.
TOXLINE in PubMed
Quickly search Toxicology literature in PubMed by adding a keyword to the search box.

more... less...

How-to webpage for TOXNET here: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/toxnet/toxline-help.html.
DART in PubMed
Quickly access developmental and reproductive toxicology (DART) research through PubMed.

more... less...

How to use DART here: https://www.nlm.nih.gov/toxnet/dart-help.html
International Toxicologies Estimates for Risk (ITER)
CURRENTLY UNDER CONSTRUCTION, with links available to primary data sources.) ITER contains data in support of human health risk assessments. It is compiled by Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assessment (TERA) and contains data from CDC/ATSDR, Health Canada, RIVM, U.S. EPA, IARC, NSF International and independent parties offering peer-reviewed risk values. ITER provides comparison charts of international risk assessment information and explains differences in risk values derived by different organizations.