A Clinician's Guide to Gender-Affirming Care by
Transgender and gender nonconforming (TNGC) clients have complex mental health concerns, and are more likely than ever to seek out treatment. This comprehensive resource outlines the latest research and recommendations to provide you with the requisite knowledge, skills, and awareness to treat TNGC clients with competent and affirming care. As you know, TNGC clients have different needs based on who they are in relation to the world. Written by three psychologists who specialize in working with the TGNC population, this important book draws on the perspective that there is no one-size-fits-all approach for working with TNGC clients. It offers interventions tailored to developmental stages and situational factors--for example, cultural intersections such as race, class, and religion. This book provides up-to-date information on language, etiquette, and appropriate communication and conduct in treating TGNC clients, and discusses the history, cultural context, and ethical and legal issues that can arise in working with gender-diverse individuals in a clinical setting. You'll also find information about informed consent approaches that call for a shift in the role of the mental health provider in the position of assessment and referral for the purposes of gender-affirming medical care (such as hormones, surgery, and other procedures). As changes in recent transgender health care and insurance coverage have provided increased access for a broader range of consumers, it is essential to understand transgender and gender nonconforming clients' different needs. This book provides practical exercises and skills you can use to help TNGC clients thrive.
Clinicians Guide to Lgbtqia+ Care by
Strive for health equity and surmount institutional oppression when treating marginalized populations with this distinct resource! This unique text provides a framework for delivering culturally safe clinical care to LGBTQIA+ populations filtered through the lens of racial, economic, and reproductive justice. It focuses strongly on the social context in which we live, one where multiple historical processes of oppression continue to manifest as injustices in the health care setting and beyond. Encompassing the shared experiences of a diverse group of expert health care practitioners, this book offers abundant examples, case studies, recommendations, and the most up-to-date guidelines available for treating LGBTQIA+ patient populations. Rich in clinical scenarios that describe best practices for safely treating patients, this text features varied healthcare frameworks encompassing patient-centered and community-centered care that considers the intersecting and ongoing processes of oppression that impact LGBTQIA+ people every day--particularly people of color. This text helps health providers incorporate safe and culturally appropriate language into their care, understand the roots and impact of stigma, address issues of health disparities, and recognize and avoid racial or LGBTQIA+ microaggressions. Specific approaches to care include chapters on sexual health care, perinatal care, and information about pregnancy and postpartum care for transgender and gender-expansive people. Key Features: Emphasizes patient-centered care incorporating an understanding of patient histories, safety needs, and power imbalances Provides tools for clinician self-reflection to understand and alleviate implicit bias Fosters culturally safe language and communication skills Presents abundant patient scenarios including specific dos and don'ts in patient treatment Includes concrete objectives, conclusions, terminology, and references in each chapter and discussion questions to promote critical thought Offers charts and information boxes to illuminate key information
The EQuality Toolkit by
Every individual is entitled to quality health care, but medical professionals are not always equipped with the training and knowledge to provide the necessary care to patients -- especially when it comes to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) communities and individuals with differences of sex development (DSD). For this reason, the University of Louisville School of Medicine established eQuality (www.louisville.edu/medicine/equality/), an inclusive LGBTQ/DSD-affected health training program that was integrated across the medical student curriculum. After the launch of this program, the university realized that its students needed more clinical skills training to translate classroom learning into patient care. The eQuality Toolkit addresses those gaps by training medical students to care for LGBTQ/DSD-affected communities. These patients experience repeated instances of stigma and discrimination related to their identities, with consequent health and healthcare disparities that knowledgeable healthcare providers can help to address. The manual presents a practical and fundamental approach to LGBTQ/DSD health and clinical care, and it addresses several categories, including gender-affirming care, inclusive communication skills, and consideration for youth and family planning. The book, which has been used to train medical students in an educational setting, also functions independently as a clinical skills supplement for practicing providers. Most importantly, this resource emphasizes that providers who have open and thoughtful conversations with all patients will help ensure that quality and effective health care is provided.
Trans and Non-Binary Gender Healthcare for Psychiatrists, Psychologists, and Other Health Professionals by
Gender diversity is now recognised as simply part of human diversity, rather than being pathological. This shift calls for a need for mental health professionals to adapt their practice when working with trans and non-binary people. Written by two clinicians with significant experience in this field, this book provides practical, everyday advice on what to do when seeing gender-diverse people in both inpatient and outpatient settings. It avoids focusing on academic theory or being overly political and, instead, offers straightforward, useful guidance on common issues clinicians may face, such as which ward to accommodate someone on or which name to use when. Topics include common drug interactions, differential diagnoses, complex case formulation, autistic spectrum conditions, the spectrum of sexualities, surgeries, legal and religious matters, forensic assessment, psychotherapy and mental health diagnoses. Fully relevant to contemporary practice, this is a much-needed guide for busy clinicians seeking immediate, practical and authoritative answers.
Transgender Children and Youth by
A comprehensive guide to the medical,emotional, and social issues of trans kids. These days, it is practically impossible not to hear about some aspect of transgender life. Whether it is the bathroom issue in North Carolina, trans people in the military, or on television, trans life has become front and center after years of marginalization. And kids are coming out as trans at younger and younger ages, which is a good thing for them. But what written resources are available to parents, teachers, and mental health professionals who need to support these children? Elijah C. Nealy, a therapist and former deputy executive director of New York City's LGBT Community Center, and himself a trans man, has written the first-ever comprehensive guide to understanding, supporting, and welcoming trans kids. Covering everything from family life to school and mental health issues, as well as the physical, social, and emotional aspects of transition, this book is full of best practices to support trans kids.
Transgender Health and Medicine by
This text starts with the history of transgender science and provides current, evidence-based information on theories and treatment procedures, concluding with projections of future scientific developments. A transgender person is one whose congruent gender behavior (e.g., masculine, feminine, genderqueer) does not match the culturally assigned gender category based on their sex at birth. For example, a transgender person may behave and present as a woman despite being born with male genitalia.This book provides background on transgender history, needs, assessment, and procedures; side effects of procedures; and outcomes that all providers need to understand to treat transgender patients and relate to their particular expectations. The current etiquette basis for establishing an effective provider-patient relationship is highlighted. Pathological terms are no longer acceptable and new non-pathological terms are rapidly replacing them, because being transgender is now recognized as a natural part of diversity rather than a disease or disorder. Also included here are new theories of causation and treatment approaches for providers.The book additionally outlines current and earlier schools of thought and provides an integrated theory of transgender causation that includes genetic, epigenetic, cultural, and early learning/emergence factors and highlights research needs and expected future research topics. Offers comprehensive, evidence-based scientific information Contains a glossary of key terms Provides a resource list for reference
Understanding the Well-Being of LGBTQI+ Populations by
Over the past decade, there have been remarkable changes in the social, political, and legal status of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex (LGBTQI+) and other sexual and gender diverse populations in the United States. Sexual and gender diverse populations, however, remain at risk of social, political, and economic marginalization and continue to experience disparities in domains of well-being that include health, education, employment, and other areas of life. These disparities are particularly severe for LGBTQI+ people who are Black, Indigenous, or members of other communities of color. The 2011 Institute of Medicine report The Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People: Building a Foundation for Better Understanding was a landmark study that informed a decade of research, advocacy, and policy to improve the health and well-being of sexual and gender diverse populations. Understanding the Well-Being of LGBTQI+ Populations builds on this body of work and highlights the need for heightened attention to the structural inequities that continue to exist for LGBTQI+ people, such as widespread gaps in public and private data collection on sexual orientation, gender identity, and intersex status. This report assesses the health and well-being of LGBTQI+ and other sexual and gender diverse populations across the life course and in relation to determinants of well-being such as family formation, community structures, law and policy, education, and employment. It uses an intersectional framework to assess the state of the science and provide recommendations for action-oriented research agendas to help government agencies, private entities, and other actors support and advance the well-being of LGBTQI+ people. Book jacket.
