Searching for medical research about LGBTQIA+ people can be complicated; the words that we use to describe ourselves may change over time, and the language used by the community may also differ from what is used by medical providers. You may see words in databases that are outdated or even offensive. Controlled vocabulary (i.e., subject headings like MeSH terms) are updated regularly, but they can still be behind the times, so it is important to know both the subject headings used and lay terms that could be used to describe your patient group. In order to get the most expansive search results, you should try a mix of keywords and subject headings when doing a database search. Clinical research is often about specific behaviors and not identities (i.e., "men who sleep with men" as opposed to "gay men"), so umbrella acronyms like "LGBT" or "LGBTQIA" or "GLBT" might not be used in some articles.
Pubmed includes filters for:
Additionally, the following MeSH terms may be useful:
PubMed is an openly searchable and highly comprehensive database of biomedical literature, providing citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text open access content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CINAHL has a number of subject headings that could be helpful:
Your key to nursing literature, CINAHL contains health journals, evidence-based care sheets, nursing dissertations, state newsletters, and continuing education modules. CINAHL also supports 17 allied health professions.
The following subject headings are useful when searching the catalog for books. GU's resources are limited, so make sure you are expanding your search to Summit Libraries in order to find materials from other libraries:
Contains over two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations, all in the field of psychology, dating as far back as 1840. Materials cover a wide range of psychological topics, including the psychological aspects of related fields, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.