Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Services for Faculty and Staff

ALERT EzProxy Change:

We have upgraded to a new EzProxy system, EzProxy is the system that allows off-campus access to full text and streaming library resources.  To ensure access, links to library resources may need to be updated.  Please click for more information.

Linking to Library Resources

This guide will walk you through some of the nuances of linking to library resources in a way that assures your students will have reliable access both on and off campus.

As an instructor developing or maintaining a Blackboard course or syllabi you have some options on how to link to library resources. 

Option 1: Electronic Reserves and Reading Lists

For the best, and most dynamic connection to library resources, The Reading Lists Platform by Leganto helps instructors, students, and librarians collaborate to create dynamic, interactive resource pages all in one place. Our library staff can assist you in setting up a Reading List for your course.  More information on Electronic Reserves and Reading Lists

  • Link dynamic lists of resources to Blackboard courses
  • Create stand-alone lists to share
  • Live time availability information for any Gonzaga library resource
  • Easy access to database content
  • Add online content to the list
  • Usage statistics available
  • Students and instructors can develop their own personal resource collection

 

Option 2: Link to a Primo Record

Our Primo Library Catalog contains dynamic, content that connects to the many library subscriptions databases, so as URLs change a link to records in Primo will then connect to the new URL automatically without any updating in your Blackboard course.

Here is a quick video on how to create a Primo Permalink

 

Option 3: Link Directly to a database record

Many of our library databases offer some sort of permalink option, while this can be a great way to link directly to a record, there is always the need to monitor these links, as databases change their URL structure occasionally.  These links are usually not dynamic, so they run a risk of breaking. 

Each database is unique, but we are happy to help if you need assistance linking directly to a particular database please contact us at refdesk@gonzaga.edu.

Accessibility | Proxy Logout