LibGuides: ESL: Articles

Foley eResources for ESL students

eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Easy to use resources geared toward the K-12 audience including a wide range of research topics and two special collections specifically for history and literature.
K-12 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Simultaneous searching of EBSCO Animals, MAS Ultra. Middle Search Plus and Primary search. All targeted to the K-12 audience.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Highlights opposing viewpoints related to controversial and contemporary issues. Features viewpoints, articles from the news, journals and magazines, as well as audio and video clips. Includes relevant statistics, reference materials and websites.
SIRS Discoverer (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Aimed at elementary and middle school students, this database is an interactive tool for developing research, reading, writing and computing skills with articles and graphics from magazines, newspapers and government documents.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with over 12,000 indexed publications, as well as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth reports written by journalists on congressional legislative issues on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.
ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of subjects including the arts, business, education, general interests, humanities, international topics, law, military, multicultural issues, psychology, the sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.

CultureGrams This link opens in a new window
Background cultural and sociological information on the countries and cultures of the world, targeted at K-12 students and educators.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Edition, fully searchable. Also includes: Video Collection, Timelines, World Data Analyst, Compare Countries, World Atlas, Notable Quotations, and Gateway to the Classics.
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Print Magazines and Journals

The Foley Library has a selection of general interest as well as academic magazines, newspapers, and journals available to read. While they cannot be checked out from the library, you may read them in the library or copy articles to read later. These periodicals (publications that are published at regular intervals) are located on the lower level, with many titles arranged alphabetically along the south wall for easier browsing and the latest issues at Foley's 1st Floor Popular Periodicals area.

Some that you might be interested in include:

Consumer Reports Rolling Stone

Discover Sports Illustrated

Popular Science Time

You can also search for other titles that we have in print or online at the following link:

Periodicals@Foley

Gonzaga Library Search

Start here to find hundreds of thousands of books, journals, audio-visual media, and more, housed at Foley and available to you electronically.