Skip to main content

Online & Distant Students: Study Abroad

Library services and tips for students enrolled in online and off-campus programs.

Gonzaga In Florence Library

Students using the Gonzaga in Florence Library. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

GiF Library homepage

Chat with a Librarian 24/7

chat loading...

Foley Library Abroad

Link to:  Gonzaga's Study Abroad Programs

Many library services are still available to Gonzaga students studying in other countries:

  • Online Databases and Reference sources: article databases, e-books and other resources such as CultureGrams and Global RoadWarrior (see the links on the left).
  • Periodicals @ Foley, your gateway to online full-text articles from the university's electronic journal subscriptions and online databases.
  • PRIMO to search for online articles and e-books.   
  • ILLiad - If you need an article from a journal that we don't have at Foley or if you need one from the library's physical journal collection, submit a request through ILLiad. Articles are delivered to your ILLiad account in PDF form.
  • Research assistance via e-mail or online chat. 

Do I need my Gonzaga ID number to use the library?

You will need your Gonzaga ID number to register for an ILLiad  account.

Can I get books sent to me?

  • The of the cost and time involved to ship books overseas prevents us from offering our usual book loan service while you are abroad.
  • Foley has a growing collection of eBooks which you can find using Library Search. 

How do I get articles?

  • Foley subscribes to a number of databases and journals that provide articles in full-text (PDF or HTML) and if an article isn't available in full-text from the database you're using, look for the link to Check Gonzaga Libraries for full text options. If it isn't there, use ILLiad to request it.

How long will it take to receive an article once I put in the request?

  • Most articles arrive within a day or so of placing the request.

How will I receive an article I've requested through ILLIad?

  • A PDF of the article will be posted to your ILLiad account and you will be notified by e-mail when it is available. Save a copy of the article right away as it will be removed from the ILLiad server after 30 days.

How will you know where I am?

  • You will have to tell us!
  • Please update your ILLiad account:
    • change your status to "STUDY ABROAD"
    • enter your program or country location as your street address (ex: London Program).
    • Put an 'x' in other fields that don't apply to your current situation.
  • Remember to update ILLiad account information when you come back, too.

Country Info

Make an Appointment

In addition to our reference desk assistance and our phone, chat, and email services, Foley librarians are available by appointment. You can arrange to meet in person or over the phone to get the help you need!