Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology

A research guide to introduce you to the field of Biology. You'll find the materials, search tools, and other resources you need to start your research. If you need any assistance, please contact your librarian.

Gonzaga Library Search

Start here to find thousands of books, media, and scholarly journal articles housed at Foley and available to you electronically.

Print Reference Titles

Biochemistry

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - REF QP512.094 2006

Biodiversity

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity - REF QH541.15.B56 E53 2001

Encyclopedia of Biodiversity - REF QH541.15.B56 R53 2012

Bioethics

Encyclopedia of Bioethics - REF QH332.E52 2004

Biology

Dictionary of Biology - REF QH302.5 .I53 1999

Five Kingdoms: An Illustrated Guide to the Phyla of Life on Earth - REF QH83.M36 1998

The Tree of Life - REF QH83.L42513 2006

Botany

CRC World Dictionary of Plant Names - REF QK13.Q38 2000

Flora of North America: North of Mexico - REF QK110.F55 1993

Magill's Encyclopedia of Science: Plant Life - REF QK7.M34 2003

Evolution 

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Darwin and Evolutionary Thought - REF QH360.2.C36 2013

Encyclopedia of Evolution - REF QH360.2.E54 2002

Genetics

Encyclopedia of Genetics - REF QH427.E53 2004

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Genetics, Genomics, and Proteomics - REF QH 427.R43 2003

Human Biology

Atlas of Human Anatomy - REF QM25.N46 2014

Encyclopedia of Human Biology - REF QP11.E53 1991

Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition - REF QP141.E526 2005

Microbiology

Dictionary of Virology - REF QR358.M34 2009

Encyclopedia of Microbiology - REF QR9.E53 2000

Zoology

Birds of Washington - REF QL684.W2 B57 2005

Encyclopedia of Insects - REF QL462.3.E53 2003

Firefly Encyclopedia of Reptiles and Amphibians - REF QL640.7.F52 2002

Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia - REF QL7.G7813 2004

 

 

Resources Beyond Foley

If you can't find a book or a book chapter you need at Foley Library, check WorldCat which contains books in libraries worldwide.  You can order books or book chapters via InterLibrary Loan easily after setting up an ILL account with Foley library.  The world is your library!

Accessibility | Proxy Logout