LibGuides: Computer Science &amp; Engineering Research Guide: Databases for Articles, Journals, and other Publications

Subject-Specific Databases

Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is a comprehensive database covering computing and information technology. The repository includes the complete collection of ACM publications plus an extended bibliographic database of core works in computing from scholarly publishers.
ASTM Compass: Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) Compass provides access to voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services, as well as access to a number of engineering journals, manuals and monographs, selected technical papers and reports, and data series.
Computer Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Computer Source provides access to 300+ full text journals, and indexing for a further 450+ journals, in the fields of computer science, engineering, and technology.

On Campus Guest Access
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library provides full-text access to journals, transactions, and magazines and conference proceedings published since 1998 and IEEE standards from 1948 to the present.
IEEE Standards Online This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Standards Online collection includes full text for thousands of IEEE engineering and technology standards from 1948 to the present. Also includes access to the official IEEE Standards Dictionary.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet is a database from the American Mathematical Society (AMS) which provides indexing, abstracts, and reviews for much of the mathematical sciences literature, and includes Mathematical Reviews, which publishes over 40,000 expert reviews of currently published literature per year.

PhilPapers: Philosophy of Science, Logic, and Mathematics
A comprehensive index of research literature related to scientific, logical, and mathematical philosophy. Includes access to PhilArchive, the largest open access e-print server in philosophy.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with over 12,000 indexed publications, as well as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
On Campus Guest Access
Ei Engineering Village: Compendex This link opens in a new window
Ei Engineering Village: Compendex is a comprehensive engineering literature database of peer reviewed and indexed publications with over 20 million records from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. Every record is indexed using the Engineering Index Thesaurus to ensure discovery and retrieval of engineering-specific literature.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database for core journals in the fields of the arts & humanities, social sciences, and life sciences, providing archival access to each journal beginning with volume 1.
ProQuest Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of subjects including the arts, business, education, general interests, humanities, international topics, law, military, multicultural issues, psychology, the sciences, social sciences, and women's interests.
Web of Science/Web of Knowledge This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database for leading journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use this database to identify the number of citations to articles in scholarly journals as well as locating all cited references captured from indexed journals.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
more...less...
Google Scholar is freely available, and is not a Foley Library database.

Is My Article Peer Reviewed?

The best way to determine if your article is peer reviewed, is to make sure that the journal it is published in is peer reviewed, or "refereed." Ulrich's is a tool that provides extensive information about scholarly journals and publications, including whether the journal is peer reviewed. Search the title of the journal, (NOT the name of the article) in Ulrich's to find out if it is refereed.

Ulrich's This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed publication information about magazines, journals, newspapers, newsletters, e-zines and more.

Optimize Your Searches with Boolean Logic

McMaster University Library. (2015). Boolean cheat sheet (infographic). Retrieved from: https://library.mcmaster.ca/research/how-library-stuff-works.

Computer Science & Engineering Research Guide

Liaison Librarian

Subject-Specific Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases

Is My Article Peer Reviewed?

Optimize Your Searches with Boolean Logic