LibGuides: Computer Science &amp; Engineering Research Guide: Find Online Resources

Professional Organizations in Computer Science, Engineering, and Technology

Professional and trade organizations are essential to the functioning of CSE and technology. They publish and disseminate journals, standards and technical reports, and host conferences and other events. They advocate on behalf of their members to corporations, governments, and the general public. Professional organization websites are a wealth of information about their fields and provide access to a variety of discipline-specific resources.

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) is an international learned society for computing, and is an umbrella organization for academic and scholarly interests in all areas of computer science. ACM and its 37 Special Interest Groups (SIGs) conduct regular conferences and publish a large number of specialized journals, magazines, and newsletters, including the prestigious Journal of the ACM. Students and new professionals are eligible for discounted membership!
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) is a professional association for electronic engineering and electrical engineering (and associated disciplines). Its objectives are the educational and technical advancement of electrical and electronic engineering, telecommunications, computer engineering and allied disciplines. IEEE was ormed in 1963 from the amalgamation of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers and the Institute of Radio Engineers, and due to its expansion of scope into so many related fields it is now known primarily by its acronym I-E-E-E (pronounced Eye-triple-E).
The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) The Institution of Engineering and Technology (The IET) is a multidisciplinary professional engineering institution based in the UK. The IET represents the engineering profession in matters of public concern and assists governments to make the public aware of engineering and technological issues. The IET publishes a number of journals, codes of practice, and standards, and hosts professional conferences and events. Students and apprentices are eligible for low cost memberships.
National Society of Black Engineers
Association for Women in Computing The Association for Women in Computing (AWC) is one of the first professional organizations for women in computing. AWC is dedicated to promoting the advancement of women in the computing professions. Our members include many types of computer professionals, such as programmers, system analysts, operators, technical writers, Internet specialists, trainers and consultants.
Engineering Network (EngNet) EngNet is an engineering industry directory, search engine, and buyers’ guide service created to enable Engineers, Technicians, Tradespeople, etc. to find information and communicate effectively with suppliers in the Engineering Industry. Open Access.
Association for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T) The Association for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T) is the only professional association that bridges the gap between information science practice and research. The mission of the Association is to advance research and practice in information science and technology.

Online Computational Platforms and Toolkits

WolframAlpha
WolframAlpha is a computational knowledge engine that generates output by doing computations from its own internal knowledge base, instead of searching the web and returning links. WolframAlpha includes specialized resources for engineering, materials, computational science, and chemistry.
WWW Virtual Library: CAD Primer
CAD software is commonly used for drafting architectural and engineering drawings and for making technical illustrations of any kind. This section of Virtual Library is devoted to CAD education. It contains links to important resources associated with the CAD industry.
more...less...
WWW Virtual Library is part of an ambitious project to create a virtual library of the World Wide Web. It is coordinated by the people at CERN, where the world wide web was born.

Steaming Video

Design and Detailing of Reinforced Concrete Diaphragms, from the Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute
A series of webinars and accompanying documents in PDF form from the ARCI. (GU credentials required for access.)

Media Education Foundation Streaming Videos This link opens in a new window
A database of streaming videos on academic subjects. Subject coverage includes documentary films on gender studies, race studies, media studies and communication, debt and consumerism, and politics and current issues.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand provides streaming educational videos for the Gonzaga community 24/7. With access to almost 40,000 academic videos and over 300,000 segments, the content covers all fields, including business, the arts and humanities, social sciences and sciences.