LibGuides: Computer Science &amp; Engineering Research Guide: Essential Resources

Essential Databases for Computer Science and Engineering Research

Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is a comprehensive database covering computing and information technology. The repository includes the complete collection of ACM publications plus an extended bibliographic database of core works in computing from scholarly publishers.
Computer Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Computer Source provides access to 300+ full text journals, and indexing for a further 450+ journals, in the fields of computer science, engineering, and technology.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet is a database from the American Mathematical Society (AMS) which provides indexing, abstracts, and reviews for much of the mathematical sciences literature, and includes Mathematical Reviews, which publishes over 40,000 expert reviews of currently published literature per year.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library provides full-text access to journals, transactions, and magazines and conference proceedings published since 1998 and IEEE standards from 1948 to the present.

Computer Science and Engineering at Gonzaga University

Learn about Computer Science at the School of Engineering & Applied Science
Information about the Computer Science B.S. program available through SEAS.
Learn about Computer Engineering at the School of Engineering & Applied Science
Information about the Computer Engineering degree available through SEAS.
Computer Science and Computational Thinking at the College of Arts & Sciences
Information about the CSCT major in the CAS, which combines the study of math and computer science with a broad liberal arts education in the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences.
Computer Engineering Labs at Herak
Information about Herak Center labs specifically for computer engineering, including the Embedded Computer Systems Lab, Digital Logic Lab, and Microcomputer Lab.
The John and Joan Bollier Family Center for Integrated Science and Engineering
Find out all about the new ISE building, which houses a variety of state-of-the-art labs, studios, classrooms, and other amenities for engineering and the sciences.

Top Resources in Related Science & Technology Fields

Please refer to the full Biology Research Guide for resources, tools, and services in biology, biochemistry, and biomedicine.

Agricola (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A database of the US Department of Agriculture’s National Agriculture Library, comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, technical reports, patents, software, and audiovisual material on the topic of agriculture dating back to 1970.
Environment Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a multidisciplinary database providing indexing and full-text access to a wide variety of journals and other publications in the fields of agriculture, ecology, biology, environmental law, public policy, and related fields.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central (BMC), a subset of Springer Nature and one of the first and largest open access STEM publishers, provides access to over 300 peer-reviewed journals in a wide variety of fields, including but not limited to biology, medicine, chemistry, and environmental studies.
Biomedical Reference Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to full-text, indexed and abstracted biomedical research journals covering a broad range of disciplines, including medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences. Coverage also extends to include structured research evaluating current and past health care systems.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is an openly searchable and highly comprehensive database of biomedical literature, providing citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text open access content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Please refer to the full Chemistry Research Guide for more resources, tools, and services in the fields of chemistry and biochemistry.

American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window
A database of full-text publications from the American Chemical Society, including scholarly journals, eBooks, reference works, and standards.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
The Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is an online, fully searchable data reference book of chemical information used by scientists worldwide. The Handbook regularly updates existing tables with the most current data and introduces new topics of interest to the scientific community.

PubCHEM
PubChem is an open chemistry database from the National Institutes of Health (NIH). PubChem is a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public.
more...less...
PubChem mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. We collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.
ChemIDplus
A dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures). ChemIDplus includes links to NLM and other databases and resources, including links to federal, state and international agencies. ChemIDplus is a product of the NIH.

SciFinder This link opens in a new window
SciFinder is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to a comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. Logins and client software provided by the Chemistry Department and are NOT available directly through Foley.
SciFinder is a product of the American Chemical Society’s Chemical Abstracts Services division.

Please refer to the full Engineering and Applied Science guide for further resources.

ASTM Compass: Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) Compass provides access to voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services, as well as access to a number of engineering journals, manuals and monographs, selected technical papers and reports, and data series.
Ei Engineering Village: Compendex This link opens in a new window
Ei Engineering Village: Compendex is a comprehensive engineering literature database of peer reviewed and indexed publications with over 20 million records from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. Every record is indexed using the Engineering Index Thesaurus to ensure discovery and retrieval of engineering-specific literature.
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Library This link opens in a new window
ASCE Library is a full-text civil engineering database providing the contents of peer-reviewed journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. Online access for core ASCE journals begins in 1983.
IEEE Standards Online This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Standards Online collection includes full text for thousands of IEEE engineering and technology standards from 1948 to the present. Also includes access to the official IEEE Standards Dictionary.

Please refer to the full Environmental Studies Research Guide for resources, tools, and services related to environmental science and environmental and sustainability policy.

Environment Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a multidisciplinary database providing indexing and full-text access to a wide variety of journals and other publications in the fields of agriculture, ecology, biology, environmental law, public policy, and related fields.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a large collection of indexing and abstracts for scholarly, government, and general-interest publications covering all aspects of human impact on the environment, including climate change, sustainable agriculture, green building, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Agricola (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A database of the US Department of Agriculture’s National Agriculture Library, comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, technical reports, patents, software, and audiovisual material on the topic of agriculture dating back to 1970.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database for core journals in the fields of the arts & humanities, social sciences, and life sciences, providing archival access to each journal beginning with volume 1.
Hathi Trust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, providing access to online collections which include digitized books, music, college/university publications and manuscripts from libraries around the world.

Please refer to the full Mathematics Research Guide for more resources, tools, and services for mathematics research.

MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet is a database from the American Mathematical Society (AMS) which provides indexing, abstracts, and reviews for much of the mathematical sciences literature, and includes Mathematical Reviews, which publishes over 40,000 expert reviews of currently published literature per year.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
arXiv is an open-access repository of electronic preprint papers that are approved for posting after moderation (but not peer review). arXiv provides access to scientific papers in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

Please refer to the full Physics Research Guide for resources, tools, and services for research in physics.

American Physical Society (APS) Journals This link opens in a new window
APS Journals is a full-text database of all scholarly journals and publications from the American Physical Society, a leading publisher in the field of physics. Includes complete coverage for Physical Review Series I-II (1893-1960) and Series III (1960-present) Phys. Rev. sub-journals; Physical Review Letters; Reviews of Modern Physics; and the open-access magazine Physics. Physical Review Series I-II are available in the Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA), which is included in the APS Journals database.
IOPscience (Institute of Physics Publishing) This link opens in a new window
IOPscience is a full-text repository of Institute of Physics (IOP) publications, including scholarly journals, eBooks, and open access conference proceedings.

Computer Science & Engineering Research Guide

Your Librarian

Get Help Now!

Feedback About This Guide

Essential Databases for Computer Science and Engineering Research

Computer Science and Engineering at Gonzaga University

Top Resources in Related Science & Technology Fields