Skip to main content

UASC's Believe It or Not: Oddities, Rarities & Treasures from the Foley Vault: Case 4

Case 4

Case 4

Original Installments by Charles Dickens: Dickens, Charles. The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby. London: Chapman and Hall, 1838-1839.

Original Installments by Charles Dickens: Dickens, Charles. The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby. London: Chapman and Hall, 1838-1839.

Dickens published his third novel, which came to be known by the shortened title Nicholas Nickleby, in monthly installments, as he had his first two novels, The Pickwick Papers and Oliver Twist. This volume contains all twenty original installments of Nicholas Nickleby, published between April 1838 and October 1839.

Rare Book Collection

Cover of the first installment of Nicholas Nickleby.

Cover of the first installment of Nicholas Nickleby.

Illustration within the first installment of Nicholas Nickleby and the beginning of the first chapter

Illustration within the first installment of Nicholas Nickleby and the beginning of the first chapter

Banjolele: Tenor Banjolele and Canvas Case Owned by Lyle W. Moore. New York: Mele B&J. 1920s.

Banjolele: Tenor Banjolele and Canvas Case Owned by Lyle W. Moore. New York: Mele B&J. 1920s.

A banjolele is a four-stringed musical instrument with a ukulele- style fretted neck and a banjo-style body.  It is neither a banjo nor a ukulele.  These banjoleles were made in the 1920s when ukuleles were popular. 

Born in Illinois in 1904, Lyle W. Moore graduated from Eureka College in 1928. He was part of the Eureka College Male Quartet for 1927 and 1920.  Prior to that he was a member of the Rocky Mountain Male Quartet.

Afterwards Moore began his 42 year teaching tenure Gonzaga University. While there, he directed the Men’s Glee Clubs who performed in such venues as Spokane’s Post Street Theater, the War Memorial in San Francisco and in high schools and churches throughout the Northwest during the 1930’s, 40’s, and 50’s.  He also taught voice, music theory and history.

Moore received his master’s degree in music from Columbia University in the early 1930’s. During his 42 year tenure at Gonzaga, his career in music was interrupted by his service as a flyer in the South Pacific from 1942 to 1946.

Gonzaga University Archives

Banjolele

Banjolele

Canvas banjolele case

Canvas banjolele case

Lyle Moore (right) with unknown person and banjoleles, no date

Lyle Moore (right) with unknown person and banjoleles, no date

Mechanical Drawing Tools: 1925 – 1926.

Mechanical Drawing Tools: 1925 – 1926.

Used by George Warren Waitt who attended Gonzaga University in 1925-1926.  Mechanical drawing classes were offered to students in the pre-Engineering program.  Waitt’s kit contained a set of K & E drafting instruments with pens, compass, dividers, triangles, a protractor, a French curve, an architect scales, and a can of “Pounce”, a tracing product used by drafters.  The ruler has his name, “Waitt,” written on it. The kit has his name and “G.U.”

Gonzaga University Archives

Records of the Tokyo War Crimes Trials: International Military Tribunal for the Far East. Tokyo. 1948.

Records of the Tokyo War Crimes Trials: International Military Tribunal for the Far East. Tokyo. 1948.

Between May 1946 and November 1948, the International Military Tribunal for the Far East—the Japanese counterpart to the more famous Nuremberg trials—tried twenty-eight Japanese leaders, bringing “stern justice” to those convicted of Crimes Against Peace, Crimes Against Humanity, and War Crimes. The tribunal included judges and prosecution teams from each of the ten countries that signed Japan’s surrender and handed out sentences ranging from seven years’ imprisonment to death. The records were printed by mimeograph onto whatever paper could be found in the chaos of postwar Tokyo, where the trials took place. The records at Gonzaga include profiles of all twenty-eight defendants, transcripts of the hearings for April 1948, summations of the prosecution and the defense, and the final judgments.

Daniel Mahoney donated these records to Gonzaga in 1998 and the National Archives holds the one other known copy.

Manuscript Collection

Index of the Tokyo War Crimes Trials records

Index of the Tokyo War Crimes Trials records

Smallest Book: Timm, Jill. "Flower Garden." 2nd ed. Wenatchee, WA: Mystical Places Press, 2001.

Smallest Book: Timm, Jill. "Flower Garden." 2nd ed. Wenatchee, WA: Mystical Places Press, 2001.

Mystical Places Press is a publisher of limited edition, hand crafted books that celebrate the spirit and aesthetics of the natural environment.  This hand-bound copy of Flower Garden is the 45th of only 50 in its edition, and features photos taken at the Cascade Gardens in Banff, Alberta, Canada.

Rare Book Collection

Alternate view of Flower Garden.

Alternate view of Flower Garden.

Watergate Transcript: Impeachment Inquiry Staff of the House Judiciary Committee. 1974.

Watergate Transcript: Impeachment Inquiry Staff of the House Judiciary Committee. 1974.

This transcript, prepared for the House Judiciary Committee’s 1974 impeachment trial of President Richard Nixon following the infamous Watergate cover-up, is of an April 19, 1971 conversation between Nixon, George Shultz, and John Ehrlichman. Ehrlichman, an advisor to Nixon on domestic affairs, was convicted of conspiracy, obstruction of justice, and perjury for his role in Watergate.

Manuscript Collections

The first page of the transcript

The first page of the transcript

Japanese Map: Map of Central Tokyo. 64th Engineer Topographic Battalion. 1946.

Japanese Map: Map of Central Tokyo. 64th Engineer Topographic Battalion. 1946.

This colorful map of Tokyo was produced for members of the U.S. Armed Forces during their post-WWII occupation of Japan during the Tokyo War Crimes trials. It denotes military installations, dependent housing, bus routes, and major streets as well as the various routes into Tokyo, seen here.

Manuscript Collections