LibGuides: Engineering &amp; Applied Science Research Guide: Databases for Articles, Journals, and other Publications

Engineering and Computing Databases

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Library This link opens in a new window
ASCE Library is a full-text civil engineering database providing the contents of peer-reviewed journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers. Online access for core ASCE journals begins in 1983.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
The American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME) Digital Collection is a repository of select ASME journals, conference proceedings, and other literature in the field of engineering, including but not limited to mechanical engineering.
Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is a comprehensive database covering computing and information technology. The repository includes the complete collection of ACM publications plus an extended bibliographic database of core works in computing from scholarly publishers.
ASTM Compass: Standards and Engineering Digital Library This link opens in a new window
ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) Compass provides access to voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services, as well as access to a number of engineering journals, manuals and monographs, selected technical papers and reports, and data series.
Computer Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Computer Source provides access to 300+ full text journals, and indexing for a further 450+ journals, in the fields of computer science, engineering, and technology.

On Campus Guest Access
Ei Engineering Village: Compendex This link opens in a new window
Ei Engineering Village: Compendex is a comprehensive engineering literature database of peer reviewed and indexed publications with over 20 million records from 77 countries across 190 engineering disciplines. Every record is indexed using the Engineering Index Thesaurus to ensure discovery and retrieval of engineering-specific literature.
IEEE Standards Online This link opens in a new window
The IEEE Standards Online collection includes full text for thousands of IEEE engineering and technology standards from 1948 to the present. Also includes access to the official IEEE Standards Dictionary.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Xplore Digital Library provides full-text access to journals, transactions, and magazines and conference proceedings published since 1998 and IEEE standards from 1948 to the present.

Databases for Related Fields

American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications This link opens in a new window
A database of full-text publications from the American Chemical Society, including scholarly journals, eBooks, reference works, and standards.
American Physical Society (APS) Journals This link opens in a new window
APS Journals is a full-text database of all scholarly journals and publications from the American Physical Society, a leading publisher in the field of physics.
Environment Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete is a multidisciplinary database providing indexing and full-text access to a wide variety of journals and other publications in the fields of agriculture, ecology, biology, environmental law, public policy, and related fields.
On Campus Guest Access
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains journal articles in the field of education from K-12 to higher education. Also, includes links to more than 323,000 full-text ERIC documents from local and state education departments from 1966-present.
On Campus Guest Access
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet is a database from the American Mathematical Society (AMS) which provides indexing, abstracts, and reviews for much of the mathematical sciences literature, and includes Mathematical Reviews, which publishes over 40,000 expert reviews of currently published literature per year.

PhilPapers: Philosophy of Science, Logic, and Mathematics
A comprehensive index of research literature related to scientific, logical, and mathematical philosophy. Includes access to PhilArchive, the largest open access e-print server in philosophy.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with over 12,000 indexed publications, as well as monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
On Campus Guest Access
arXiv This link opens in a new window
arXiv is an open-access repository of electronic preprint papers that are approved for posting after moderation (but not peer review). arXiv provides access to scientific papers in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database for core journals in the fields of the arts & humanities, social sciences, and life sciences, providing archival access to each journal beginning with volume 1.
Web of Science/Web of Knowledge This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database for leading journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and sciences. Use this database to identify the number of citations to articles in scholarly journals as well as locating all cited references captured from indexed journals.

Is My Article Peer Reviewed?

To determine whether your article is peer reviewed, you need to find out if the journal it is published in is peer reviewed (also known as "refereed"). There are a few quick ways to do this:

The most straightforward way is to locate the journal's website online through a quick Google search, and check for a page or section on their editorial process. Usually, journals that are peer reviewed provide this information up-front on their websites, because they want their readers to know what kind and caliber of publication they are.
At the library, we have access to a tool called Ulrichsweb that will tell searchers directly whether or not a journal is peer reviewed. Ulrich's also provides extensive bibliographic information about scholarly journals and publications that can help you to understand more about their scope and history. Search the title of the journal, (NOT the name of the article) in Ulrich's to find out if it is refereed: .

Ulrich's This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed publication information about magazines, journals, newspapers, newsletters, e-zines and more.

Optimize Your Searches with Boolean Logic

McMaster University Library. (2015). Boolean cheat sheet (infographic). Retrieved from: https://library.mcmaster.ca/research/how-library-stuff-works.

Engineering & Applied Science Research Guide

Liaison Librarian

Engineering and Computing Databases

Databases for Related Fields

Multidisciplinary Databases

Is My Article Peer Reviewed?

Optimize Your Searches with Boolean Logic