LibGuides: Engineering &amp; Applied Science Research Guide: Background Information

Engineering Reference Sources

Wolfram|Alpha: Engineering
WolframAlpha is a computational knowledge engine and answer engine. This section provides examples of a variety of engineering and applied science questions that the engine can answer.
eFunda: Engineering Fundamentals
eFunda is an online, openly accessible engineering reference center. There are a variety of calculators, information about unit conversion, materials, formulas, and mathematics, and a forum for engineers to discuss issues together.
Engineering ToolBox
The ToolBox is a free repository of information and applications related to engineering and design. There are calculators, conversion tools, and information about a wide variety of engineering topics such as thermodynamics, gases and compressed air, fluid mechanics, and more.
NIST Physical Reference Data (National Institute of Standards and Technology)
NIST Physical Measurement Laboratory provides repositories of reference data, including data on the elements, physical constants, atomic and molecular spectroscopy, x-rays and gamma rays, radiation dosimetry, nuclear physics, and condensed matter physics.

Interdisciplinary Reference Sources

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Limited to 5 simultaneous users for all Oxford Reference Online collections.

Oxford Reference Online brings together subject reference works from Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Edition, fully searchable. Also includes: Video Collection, Timelines, World Data Analyst, Compare Countries, World Atlas, Notable Quotations, and Gateway to the Classics.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth reports written by journalists on congressional legislative issues on health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy.

Professional Organizations in Engineering and Applied Sciences

Professional and trade organizations are essential to the functioning of engineering and applied sciences. They publish and disseminate journals, standards and technical reports, and host conferences and other events. They advocate on behalf of their members to corporations, governments, and the general public. Professional organization websites are a wealth of information about their fields and provide access to a variety of discipline-specific resources.

American Concrete Institute (ACI) The American Concrete Institute is a leading authority and resource worldwide for the development, dissemination, and adoption of its consensus-based standards, technical resources, educational & training programs, certification programs, and proven expertise for individuals and organizations involved in concrete design, construction, and materials. ACI offers a free student membership, which provides access to many ACI online resources and publications.
American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) The American Society for Engineering Education is dedicated to advancing engineering education and supporting engineering educators through scholarly and trade publications, conferences, and professional development opportunities. ASEE recognizes the term “engineering education” to encompass the full academic spectrum of instruction, research, scholarship, practice, and service. Discounted student and educator memberships are available.
American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) The American Society of Civil Engineers is the nation’s oldest engineering society.  ASCE is a leading provider of technical and professional conferences and continuing education, the world’s largest publisher of civil engineering content, and an authoritative source for codes and standards that protect the public. ASCE’s Student Chapter is an active, robust community of student civil engineers.
American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) ASME is a not-for-profit membership organization supporting and connecting all engineering disciplines, toward a goal of helping the global engineering community develop solutions to benefit lives and livelihoods. ASME provides continuing education, training and professional development, codes and standards, conferences and publications, and other forms of outreach. ASME offers discounted student membership, and free membership for freshmen/first year students!
ASM International ASM International (formerly the American Society for Metals) is a community of professionals at the intersection of design, structural engineering, manufacturing, quality, and materials. ASM International benefits the materials community by providing scientific, engineering and technical knowledge, education, networking and professional development for its members. Free and low-cost membership is available to students and new graduates.
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) is an international learned society for computing, and is an umbrella organization for academic and scholarly interests in all areas of computer science. ACM and its 37 Special Interest Groups (SIGs) conduct regular conferences and publish a large number of specialized journals, magazines, and newsletters, including the prestigious Journal of the ACM. Students and new professionals are eligible for discounted membership!
ASTM International ASTM International, formerly known as American Society for Testing and Materials, is an international standards organization that develops and publishes voluntary consensus technical standards for a wide range of materials, products, systems, and services. Opportunities for professional development and service are available, and students are eligible for free membership.
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) is a professional association for electronic engineering and electrical engineering (and associated disciplines). Its objectives are the educational and technical advancement of electrical and electronic engineering, telecommunications, computer engineering and allied disciplines. IEEE was ormed in 1963 from the amalgamation of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers and the Institute of Radio Engineers, and due to its expansion of scope into so many related fields it is now known primarily by its acronym I-E-E-E (pronounced Eye-triple-E).
The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) The Institution of Engineering and Technology (The IET) is a multidisciplinary professional engineering institution based in the UK. The IET represents the engineering profession in matters of public concern and assists governments to make the public aware of engineering and technological issues. The IET publishes a number of journals, codes of practice, and standards, and hosts professional conferences and events. Students and apprentices are eligible for low cost memberships.
National Society of Black Engineers
Engineering Network (EngNet) EngNet is an engineering industry directory, search engine, and buyers’ guide service created to enable Engineers, Technicians, Tradespeople, etc. to find information and communicate effectively with suppliers in the Engineering Industry. Open Access.
Society of Women Engineers SWE is an international not-for-profit educational and service organization founded in 1950. The Society of Women Engineers is a global advocate and catalyst for change for women in engineering and technology.