Foley Library User Services Training Guide

What is UASC?

UASC stands for University Archives & Special Collections. The department consists of two positions – the Special Collections Librarian (Stephanie Plowman) and the University Archivist (vacant position as of Jan 2024).  

The physical space of UASC is housed upstairs on the third floor in a place we refer to as “The Vault.” The Vault houses rare artifacts and books, including our Rare Book Collection as well as the Bing Crosby Collection

In addition to overseeing the Special Collections of the Library, Stephanie Plowman also oversees the Crosby House Museum, which is located on campus.

In addition to physical items, UASC also includes digital archives and collections. These collections include GU theses, yearbooks, newspapers, and photographs.

Please take a moment to visit UASC's main webpage and get to know the resources available.

What kinds of questions do I need to refer to UASC?

Here are a few examples of questions that you may need to refer to UASC.

• “I’m looking for my grandfather’s GU yearbook photo from 1948.”
• “Where can I find Wildin sheet music?”
• “Where can I find historical photos related to GU?”
• “Can I access GU Bulletin articles from the 1990’s?”
• “I want to check out this book but it says it is in the Special Collections. How do I access it?”
• “Where can I find newspaper articles related to the construction of Cataldo Hall?”
• “Who can I talk to about researching Gonzaga’s historical records?”

How do I refer questions to UASC?

There are a few ways that you can refer patrons to UASC.

Right now, since Stephanie is the entire department, you can try to call Stephanie (phone number listed at desk). You can also provide the patrons with Stephanie’s email and/or the email for UASC (uasc@gonzaga.edu). There are business cards for both Stephanie and UASC on the wooden bookshelf near the supervisor floater desk.  

You can also try using the Zoom chat to send Stephanie a message via Zoom.